See full times from day 2 of the pre-season testing at Abu Dhabi

Jolyon Palmer continued to set the pace in the GP2 pre-season testing at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, with a morning best time of 1:50.311s setting a benchmark that no one was able to top for the rest of the day.

His DAMS team mate Stephane Richelmi came closest to Palmer's time before lunch with a lap of 1:50.947s, over six tenths slower, while after the lunch break Trident's Johnny Cecotto Jr and ART's Stoffel Vandoorne were able to get closer to Palmer's time but nonetheless ended up almost half a second off the Briton's impressive time.

Vandoorne was also the cause of an early stoppage on Wednesday when he clipped the barrier at turn 19 less than ten minutes in, bringing out a red flag just after Caterham's Rio Haryanto had gone top of the timesheets. Trident's stand-in tester Axcil Jefferies was the cause of the second interruption of the day when he spun and came to a halt at turn 13.

Once the session recommenced, Mitch Evans went top for Russian Time before a second brief stoppage for Jefferies, after which it was Jon Lancaster (MP Motorsport) who went fastest one tenth of a second ahead of Campos Racing's new signing Kimiya Sato.

The final hour saw the first case of contact between cars so far, with Conor Daly's Venezuela GP Lazarus car colliding with the Hilmer Motorsport #12 driven by Facu Regalia at turn 18, the collision sending Daly through the gravel and into the barrier, rolling as it did so. The American was left temporarily inverted but unhurt for his experiences - although dame to his car meant that he played no further part in the day's activities.

"Unfortunate lack of respect on track led to a big incident," Daly later posted on Twitter. "I was on a lap with purple 1st sector green 2nd sector and another car came out of the pits going slow on line in most blind and quick section of the track, last sector in front of hotel an I could not miss him.

"Its a real shame," he added. "We were quickest car on track until I started barrel rolling. I'm okay."

Richelmi went top from Lancaster by six hundredths of a second when the track reopened, but a few minutes later a searing effort from Palmer put him out of reach of everyone else shortly before the chequered flag announced that it was time for lunch.

When the afternoon session got underway the only early takers were the ART pairing of Vandoorne and Takuya Izawa with the Belgian setting the pace, but eventually more cars strolled out of pit lane with the accent seemingly firmly set on race-length simulations rather than speed trials.

The mid-part of the afternoon saw Daniel Abt enjoy a decent spell at the top of the timing screens for Hilmer with a time of 1:52.444s before the final hour saw some of the drivers trying out their supersoft option tyres which allowed Daniel De Jong to go top for MP Motorsports, although his top lap of 1:51.590s was soon beaten by Vandoorne and Andr? Negrao (Arden) before finally Johnny Cecotto Jr. laid down the best time of all in the afternoon, 15 minutes before the chequered flag came out to end the proceedings for the day.

The final day of testing starts on Thursday at 9am local time, with the morning session once again running until midday and then an afternoon session starting at 1pm after a one-hour lunch break, concluding at 4pm. Teams have been given five sets of medium (prime) compound tyres and two sets of supersort (option) tyres for the week.

See full times from day 2 of the pre-season testing at Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi test line up

#01 Mitch Evans (NZL) - Russian Time
#02 Artem Markelov (RUS) - Russian Time
#03 Felipe Nasr (BRA) - Carlin
#04 Julian Leal (COL) - Carlin
#05 Raffaele Marciello (ITA) - Racing Engineering
#06 Stefano Coletti (MON) - Racing Engineering
#07 Jolyon Palmer (GBR) - DAMS
#08 St?phane Richelmi (MON) - DAMS
#09 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) - ART Grand Prix
#10 Takuya Izawa (JAP) - ART Grand Prix
#11 Daniel Abt (GER) - Hilmer Motorsport
#12 Facu Regalia (ARG) - Hilmer Motorsport
#14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (GBR) - Rapax
#15 Simon Trummer (SUI) - Rapax
#16 Rene Binder (AUT) - Arden International
#17 Andr? Negrao (BRA) - Arden International
#18 Rio Haryanto (INA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#19 Alexander Rossi (USA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#20 Daniel De Jong (NED) - MP Motorsport
#21 Jon Lancaster * (GBR) - MP Motorsport
#22 Axcil Jefferies * (ZIM) - Trident
#23 Johnny Cecotto Jr. (VEN) - Trident
#24 Nathana?l Berthon (FRA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#25 Conor Daly * (USA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#26 Arthur Pic (FRA) - Campos Racing
#27 Kimiya Sato (JAP) - Campos Racing

* denotes driver not currently signed for forthcoming season



Loading Comments...