Full test times for Thursday from Bahrain

The second day of the final GP2 pre-season test session before the first race of 2014 in April saw Caterham Racing pair Rio Haryanto and Alexander Rossi set the fastest times of the day in the morning at Bahrain International Circuit, while in the slower afternoon session the honours went to MP Motorsports Daniel de Jong.

Thursday's testing got underway at 9am local time in cooler conditions and under overcast skies, with Conor Daly soon going top for Venezuela GP Lazarus with a time of 1:41.291s ahead of Jon Lancaster in the MP Motorsport, despite both of them yet to be signed to a full time drive for 2014.

Having been fastest on Wednesday, Alexander Rossi briefly went to the top again with a time of 1:40.968s, but his compatriot Daly then found a whole new gear to undercut that by almost three quarters of a second, before Mitch Evans became the first driver of the week to dip under the 100s mark with a flying lap of 1:39.870s even before the first hour of the day was complete.

The middle stint of the morning session saw a few unlikely drops of rain in the desert, but a further outbreak of new soft option tyres meant Jolyon Palmer was still able to go top for DAMS with a time of 1:39.854s, before Rio Haryanto put the matter beyond doubt with a searing lap of 1:39.129s - three tenths of s second faster than the pole winner had managed around the 3.363-mile, 15-turn circuit during last year's race weekend.

Although the Indonesian racer was pushed hard by his team mate Rossi who came within 0.044s of usurping him from the top, Haryanto's time stood as the best of the morning when the chequered flag came out for the two-hour lunch break. Carlin's Julian Leal posted a final effort a third of a second back from the Caterham pair, slipping him into third place ahead of Racing Engineering's Raffaele Marciello who also managed to edge in front of Palmer and Evans before the finish.

After lunch, MP Motorsport's Daniel de Jong went top early on with a time of 1:42.566, and with teams using the warmer conditions to concentrate on race distance simulations de Jong continued to be the benchmark for the majority of the afternoon, with Hilmer Motorsport's Daniel Abt briefly going ahead with a lap of 1:42.127s despite the German labouring under a nasty bug, before de Jong quickly regained control again by improving to 1:41.694s.

That relative calm and stability changed as the session entered its final half hour, with de Jong's team mate Jon Lancaster briefly back on top before a flurry of qualifying runs on option tyres saw the times rapidly tumble with fliers from Trident's Vittorio Ghirelli and Johnny Cecotto Jr., but after having been on control for so much of the session it seemed de Jong wasn't about to be denied and so he managed a final push to get his lap time down to 1:40.508s, 0.271s ahead of Cecotto and Julian Leal who just edged out Ghirelli for third place in the final standings as the chequered flag was waved.

Reflecting the different focus of the teams in the afternoon session, de Jong's time was still over a second off the pace set by the Caterham's in the morning, leaving Rio Haryanto with the best time of the day and indeed the week so far at Bahrain, with just one day remaining of the final pre-season testing opportunity of 2014.

Friday's running gets underway at 9am local time, with the morning session extending for three hours until midday and then an afternoon session starting at 1pm after a on-hour lunch break and concluding at 4pm. Teams have been given a total of five sets of hard compound prime tyres and two of the soft option compound for the week per car.

Testing times for Wednesday from BahrainTesting times for Thursday from Bahrain

Bahrain test line up

#01 Mitch Evans (NZL) - Russian Time
#02 Artem Markelov (RUS) - Russian Time
#03 Felipe Nasr (BRA) - Carlin
#04 Julian Leal (COL) - Carlin
#05 Raffaele Marciello (ITA) - Racing Engineering
#06 Stefano Coletti (MON) - Racing Engineering
#07 Jolyon Palmer (GBR) - DAMS
#08 St?phane Richelmi (MON) - DAMS
#09 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) - ART Grand Prix
#10 Takuya Izawa (JAP) - ART Grand Prix
#11 Daniel Abt (GER) - Hilmer Motorsport
#12 Facu Regalia (ARG) - Hilmer Motorsport
#14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (GBR) - Rapax
#15 Simon Trummer (SUI) - Rapax
#16 Rene Binder (AUT) - Arden International
#17 Andr? Negrao (BRA) - Arden International
#18 Rio Haryanto (INA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#19 Alexander Rossi (USA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#20 Daniel De Jong (NED) - MP Motorsport
#21 Jon Lancaster * (GBR) - MP Motorsport
#22 Vittorio Ghirelli * (ITA) - Trident
#23 Johnny Cecotto Jr. (VEN) - Trident
#24 Nathana?l Berthon (FRA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#25 Conor Daly * (USA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#26 Arthur Pic (FRA) - Campos Racing
#27 Kimiya Sato (JAP) - Campos Racing

* denotes driver not currently signed for forthcoming season



Loading Comments...