Felipe Nasr has been handed a three-place grid penalty that will see him demoted from eighth to 11th place on the starting grid for Saturday's GP2 feature race.

Nasr was referred to the race stewards after an incident at the end of qualifying, where he appeared to make an unnecessary sudden turn towards the Trident of Johnny Cecotto Jr. while going through turn 4.

Nasr had been on a flying lap when he had closed up on the back of Cecotto's off-pace car, and felt that the Venezuelan has blocked him and ruined his chances of a better grid position.

The stewards subsequently found that the Carlin driver had indeed made "an abnormal change of direction" while alongside another driver, and while it had not resulted in contact the breach was seen as potentially dangerous enough to hand Nasr a three-place grid drop for Race 1.

Nasr had ended qualifying in eighth place, and as a result of the penalty will now drop Raffaele Marciello (Racing Engineering), Arthur Pic (Campos Racing) and Jon Lancaster (MP Motorsport) from 11th place on the grid.

Nasr is also currently working as test and development driver with Williams F1, which saw him participate in the FP1 session for the team at the Bahrain International Circuit earlier in the day.

The 32-lap feature race 1 is scheduled to start on Saturday at 1.10pm local time (11.10am BST), while the shorter 23-lap sprint race 2 is set for Sunday at 2.15pm local time (12.15pm BST). Live coverage of all sessions from Bahrain this weekend is available in the UK on the Sky Sports F1 subscription satellite channel.

Palmer shines for pole positionFull qualifying session results

Starting Grid for Race 1

1. #7 Jolyon Palmer DAMS
2. #10 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix
3. #11 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport
4. #8 St?phane Richelmi DAMS
5. #18 Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing
6. #6 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering
7. #1 Mitch Evans Russian Time
8. #5 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering
9. #26 Arthur Pic Campos Racing
10. #21 Jon Lancaster MP Motorsport
11. #3 Felipe Nasr * Carlin
12. #4 Julian Leal Carlin
13. #23 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Trident
14. #17 Andr? Negrao Arden International
15. #19 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing
16. #27 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing
17. #16 Rene Binder Arden International
18. #25 Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus
19. #12 Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport
20. #24 Nathana?l Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus
21. #15 Simon Trummer Rapax
22. #20 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport
23. #9 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix
24. #14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax
25. #22 Axcil Jefferies Trident
26. #2 Artem Markelov Russian Time

Three place grid penalty for veering toward another driver in qualifying


Loading Comments...