A rash of post-qualifying penalties, principally for drivers not slowing sufficiently for yellow flags during the half-hour session, has caused the second half of the grid to take on a new look ahead of Saturday afternoon's feature race.

While the first five rows would have remained the same had it not been for Davide Valsecchi being advised to sit out the first race of the weekend following his qualifying shunt, from eleventh place backwards the order is not as it would have first appeared after qualifying.

While Ben Hanley's ten-place penalty was known well in advance of the weekend, the Briton having been found guilty of causing a race two collision with Jerome d'Ambrosio in Barcelona, Kamui Kobayashi and Alberto Valerio picked up five-place punishments immediately before the timed session after twice taking the chequered flag in practice.

Valerio, however, was not done there, and headed the list of those to transgress in qualifying itself, picking up another five-place demotion for not lifting sufficiently while passing the scene of an accident. The Brazilian was joined on the offenders' list by fellow countryman Diego Nunes, as well as returnee Andy Soucek, BCN's Milos Pavlovic and Trident's Mike Conway, all of whom had five places added to their original qualifying slot.

However, with the punishments flying all around, those involved moved up and down the order before settling into the positions shown below. Soucek, instead of dropping to 19, will start from 16th, while Conway only loses two places over his initial 15th. Nunes drops three spots, while Valerio was already 23rd and only dropped one spot - instead of his full ten - because Pavlovic was already occupying the 25th and final spot in the line-up. Slowest qualifier Giacomo Ricci, meanwhile, benefits by climbing five places.

The revised starting line-up for this weekend's first race is as follows:

1. Giorgio Pantano Racing Engineering 1m 32.659s
2. Andreas Zuber Piquet 1m 32.913s
3. Adam Carroll FMSI 1m 33.141s
4. Romain Grosjean ART 1m 33.248s
5. Bruno Senna iSport 1m 33.449s
6. Pastor Maldonado Piquet 1m 33.451s
7. Karun Chandhok iSport 1m 33.703s
8. Javier Villa Racing Engineering 1m 33.813s
9. Vitaly Petrov Campos 1m 33.896s
10. J?r?me d'Ambrosio DAMS 1m 33.948s
11. Adrian Valles BCN 1m 34.006s
12. S?bastien Buemi Arden 1m 34.173s
13. Yelmer Buurman Arden 1m 34.186s
14. Luca Filippi ART 1m 34.366s
15. Ho-Pin Tung Trident 1m 34.506s
16. Andy Soucek Super Nova 1m 34.064s*
17. Mike Conway Trident 1m 34.170s*
18. Alvaro ParenteSuper Nova 1m 34.620s
19. Ben Hanley Campos 1m 33.957s*
20. Roldan Rodriguez FMSI 1m 34.698s
21. Giacomo Ricci DPR 1m 35.878s
22. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS 1m 34.667s*
23. Diego Nunes DPR 1m 34.617s*
24. Alberto Valerio Durango 1m 34.678s*
25. Milos Pavlovic BCN 1m 25.398s*

NS. Davide Valsecchi Durango 1m 33.841s injured in qualifying

* denotes drivers picking up ten places in penalties; ** denotes drivers picking up five-place penalties



Loading Comments...