Click here for full GP2 sprint race results at Monza

Norman Nato has claimed his second win of the year with a dominant performance in the Monza sprint race with Prema Powerteam duo Pierre Gasly and Antonio Giovinazzi completing the podium.

In a typical frantic opening lap at Monza, Nato got excellent drive off the start line to dive into the lead at turn one while fending off team-mate Jordan King. The French driver rarely looked troubled for the win as trouble unfolded behind him.

In the second chicane two separate incidents saw Oliver Rowland take to Luca Ghiotto as Gustav Malja pitched Mitch Evans which sent both victims out of the race. Both Rowland and Malja were handed 10-second time penalties to their race time which effectively ended their hopes of a positive result over the sprint race distance.

Up ahead Gasly produced an excellent overtaking move around King midway through the race to take second spot, while team-mate and title rival Giovinazzi repeat the feat on King up the inside on turn one.

Gasly's second place from Giovinazzi saw him opening up his GP2 championship lead to 10 points over the Italian with two rounds remaining.

With Malja going for broke trying to build up a time gap, King maintained his position to take a net fourth ahead of Artem Markelov, as Alex Lynn pinched sixth from Nobuharu Matsushita over the finish line. Nicholas Latifi picked up the final points place for DAMS in eighth.



Loading Comments...