Jules Bianchi put in a terrific early lap to stake his claim to pole position by just pipping Netherlands' driver Giedo van der Garde's time in the opening moments of qualifying while the track was still relatively clear.

Unfortunately he was judged to have improved his laptime while yellow flags were out for Fabio Leimer, who had ground to a halt into turn 6 on his exit lap and whose Rapax was still being recovered by marshalls on track when Bianchi set his time. He was penalised ten grid positions as a result.

That put van der Garde on pole alongside iSport's Sam Bird, while Charles Pic will now start from third. Romain Grosjean, polesitter and feature race winner in Turkey and who put in the fastest time by some margin in the morning practice session, had suffered in traffic in the session but as a result Bianchi's penalty will now start alongside Pic from the second row of the grid.

Session report also available.

Qualifying times

1. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1:30.369s (8 laps) *
2. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax 1:30.473s + 0.104s (6 laps)
3. Sam Bird iSport International 1:30.488s + 0.119s (10 laps)
4. Charles Pic Barwa Addax 1:30.616s + 0.247s (11 laps)
5. Romain Grosjean Dams 1:30.807s + 0.438s (12 laps)
6. Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia 1:30.820s + 0.451s (11 laps)
7. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1:30.927s + 0.558s (12 laps)
8. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:30.935s + 0.566s (10 laps)
9. Stefano Coletti Trident 1:30.974s + 0.605s (11 laps)
10. Luca Filippi Super Nova 1:31.084s + 0.715s (12 laps)
11. Max Chilton Carlin 1:31.192s + 0.823s (12 laps)
12. Josef Kral Arden International 1:31.447s + 1.078s (12 laps)
13. Luiz Razia Team AirAsia 1:31.513s + 1.144s (11 laps)
14. Michael Herck Coloni 1:31.527s + 1.158s (13 laps)
15. Alvaro Parente Racing Engineering 1:31.636s + 1.267s (12 laps)
16. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 1:31.645s + 1.276s (11 laps)
17. Kevin Ceccin Coloni 1:31.670s + 1.301s (13 laps)
18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident 1:31.694s + 1.325s (13 laps)
19. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 1:31.757s + 1.388s (6 laps)
20. Pal Varhaug Dams 1:31.779s + 1.410s (11 laps)
21. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova 1:31.821s + 1.452s (12 laps)
22. Jolyon Palmer Arden International 1:31.822s + 1.453s (12 laps)
23. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 1:31.977s + 1.608s (12 laps)
24. Julian Leal Rapax 1:32.934s + 2.565s (8 laps) *
25. Johnny Cecotto Jr Ocean Racing Technology 1:33.246s + 2.877s (7 laps)
26. Fabio Leimer Rapax (1 lap)

* = Will be demoted ten places on the starting grid



Loading Comments...