Fabio Leimer's technical gremlins put him out of qualifying and on the back of the grid for the Saturday feature race, but an impressive charge through the field during the afternoon won him pole position on the Barcelona sprint race reverse grid - and he didn't waste it.

He pulled away cleanly while others on the grid were caught napping: Jules Bianchi was particularly slow to pull away and got caught up in a battle for second with Dani Clos. Giedo van der Garde then arrived at the scene after a flying start of his own from eighth, and Bianchi tried to nudge him wide on the run down to turn 1 only for the two to touch wheels. Bianchi was sent into the outside wall at right angles and a lengthy safety car was required while Bianchi was extracted and removed by stretcher.

Much of the race was a quiet, processional affair but as tyres wore out things got a little more interesting. Romain Grosjean fought back to ninth after being excluded from the feature race results over a technical infringement, and was involved in a last lap clash with team mate Pal Varhaug, while collisions between Luca Filippi and Luiz Razia and between Josef Kral and Stefan Coletti put all four drivers out of the race.

Feature race winner Charles Pic ended up running last after a start line accident forced him to pit for a new front wing, while for a second race running, Esteban Gutierrez punted Michael Herck out of the race. After being penalised 10 grid places for doing this on Saturday, he must be dreading the walk to the steward's office on Sunday.

Race result

1. Fabio Leimer Rapax 45:26.885s after 26 laps
2. Dani Clos Racing Engineering + 10.190s
3. Marcus Ericsson iSport + 20.711s
4. Davide Valsecchi AirAsia + 20.926s
5. Sam Bird iSport + 27.339s
6. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova + 38.974s
7. Alvaro Parente Racing Engineering + 40.280s
8. Pal Varhaug DAMS + 41.885s
9. Romain Grosjean DAMS + 41.925s
10. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident + 51.503s
11. Max Chilton Carlin + 52.553s
12. Esteban Gutierrez ART + 62.219s
13. Johnny Cecotto Ocean + 63.298s
14. Julian Leal Rapax + 63.416s
15. Kevin Ceccon Coloni + 63.604s
16. Kevin Mirocha Ocean + 64.895s
17. Jolyon Palmer Arden + 65.099s
18. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin + 79.938s
19. Charles Pic Addax + 86.905s
20. Stefano Coletti Trident + 2 laps
21. Josef Kral Arden + 2 laps


Luiz Razia AirAsia Lap 22Luca Filippi Super Nova Lap 21Michael Herck Coloni Lap 12Jules Bianchi ART Lap 0Giedo van der Garde Addax Lap 0



Loading Comments...