Giedo van der Garde has lost pole position for the Monaco feature race on friday after being handed a five place starting grid penalty for causing a collision with Carlin stand-in driver Oliver Turvey early in the session.

Marcus Ericcson was similarly penalised for crashing into his team mate Sam Bird, who is the driver to inherit hold from van der Garde. Romain Grosjean was also penalised for an accident with his team mate Pal Varhaug, but was at the bottom of the timesheets anyway and lucky to be allowed to start the race, having missed the 107 per cent cut-off.

Jules Bianchi already had a five-place grid penalty for causing an accident in the Barcelona sprint race.

Read more details on the penalties.

Revised starting grid

1. #9 Sam Bird iSport International
2. #27 Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia
3. #8 Alvaro Parente Racing Engineering
4. #21 Stefano Coletti Trident Racing
5. #14 Josef Kr?l Arden International
6. #4 Giedo Van Der Garde Barwa Addax Team *
7. #24 Max Chilton Carlin
8. #5 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART *
9. #6 Esteban Guti?rrez Lotus ART
10. #23 Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology
11. #17 Luca Filippi Super Nova Racing
12. #3 Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team
13. #20 Rodolfo Gonz?lez Trident Racing
14. #1 Fabio Leimer Rapax
15. #25 Oliver Turvey Carlin
16. #26 Luiz Razia Team AirAsia
17. #7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering
18. #15 Jolyon Palmer Arden International
19. #2 Julian Leal Rapax
20. #10 Marcus Ericsson iSport International *
21. #19 Kevin Ceccon Scuderia Coloni
22. #16 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing
23. #22 Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology
24. #18 Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni
25. #12 Pal Varhaug Dams
26. #11 Romain Grosjean Dams *

* = penalised five grid positions for causing an avoidable accident



Loading Comments...