Racing Engineer's Christian Vietoris reaped the rewards of winning pole position on Friday afternoon for the GP2 feature race, when he took the green flag from the drier right-hand side of a still-damp grid at Spa Francorchamps.

While those drivers on the other side of the grid struggled to get good starts - Michael Herck in particular suffering and causing the cars behind him to scatter to avoid a collision - Vietoris got a calm start ahead of fellow right-siders Jules Bianchi and Romain Grosjean. That order survived even the downpour and eight frantic, confused laps behind the safety car that saw multiple accidents and technical gremlins emerge.

Grosjean's hold on the GP2 championship became unassailable when main rival Giedo van der Garde was rear-ended by Rodolfo Gonzalez at the top of Radillon on lap 18, while the most serious accident saw Stefano Coletti require extended medical treatment after a clash with Mikhail Aleshin on the run down to Pouhon, reminiscent of the notorious David Coulthard/Michael Schumacher crash in the 1998 Belgian Grand Prix.

Race results

1. #8 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1:00:55.099s after 24 laps
2. #5 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART + 2.862s
3. #11 Romain Grosjean DAMS + 4.571s
4. #19 Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni + 6.441s
5. #22 Brendon Hartley Ocean Racing Technology + 11.614s
6. #7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering + 12.471s
7. #16 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing + 18.906s *
8. #14 Josef Kral Arden International + 17.391s *
9. #17 Adam Carroll Super Nova Racing + 19.364s
10. #27 Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia + 20.228s
11. #23 Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology + 22.899s
12. #9 Sam Bird iSport International + 23.358s
13. #12 Pal Varhaug DAMS + 24.110s
14. #6 Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART + 31.304s
15. #24 Max Chilton Carlin + 1 lap
16. #18 Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni + 1 lap


#4 Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team (after 18 laps)#10 Marcus Ericsson iSport International (after 18 laps)#20 Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing (after 18 laps)#15 Jolyon Palmer Arden International (after 16 laps)#25 Mikhail Aleshin Carlin (after 16 laps)#21 Setfano Coletti Trident Racing (after 15 laps)#2 Julian Leal Rapax (after 14 laps)#1 Fabio Leimer Rapax (after 7 laps)#3 Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team (after 1 lap)#26 Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia (after 1 lap)

* Positions of Kral and Fauzy reversed after the stewards' review of overtaking moves carried out behind the safety car.



Loading Comments...