Luca Filippi got a strong start in the Monza feature race on Saturday afternoon and beat Charles Pic into the first corner, pulling out a lead that he was never to have seriously challenged on his way to a superb home victory for him and the Coloni team.

Pic held off heavy pressure from first Alvaro Parente (who was later given a penalty for unsafe pit release) and then a surging Romain Grosjean to take an overnight lead in the battle for second place in the drivers championship over Filippi, Jules Bianchi and Giedo van der Garde.

Van der Garde's prospects have most likely been dashed after a troubled race left him in 21st position for tomorrow, but Jules Bianchi played his hand brilliantly by finishing eighth and leaving him with pole position for the sprint race - and also making him the man to beat for the 'vice-championship' if he can stay far enough ahead of Pic and Filippi.

Race results

1. #19 Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 47:47.704s (30 laps)
2. #3 Charles Pic Barwa Addax 47:53.331s + 5.627s
3. #11 Roman Grosjean Dams 47:53.918s + 6.214s
4. #9 Sam Bird iSport 47:57.696s + 9.992s
5. #17 Adam Carroll Super Nova 48:02.608s + 14.904s
6. #8 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 48:04.414s + 16.710s
7. #1 Fabio Leimer Rapax 48:05.762s + 18.058s
8. #5 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 48:10.491s + 22.787s
9. #6 Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 48:16.148s + 28.444s
10. #26 Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 48:19.365s + 31.661s
11. #12 Pal Varhaug Dams 48:23.704s + 36.000s
12. #25 Alvaro Parente Carlin 48:31.800s + 44.096s
13. #7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering 48:34.581s + 46.877s
14. #10 Marcus Ericsson iSport 48:37.394s + 49.690s
15. #21 St?phane Richelmi Trident 48:38.580s + 50.876s
16. #2 Julian Leal Rapax 48:45.707s + 58.003s
17. #23 Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 48:53.979s + 66.275s
18. #16 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova 48:57.925s + 70.221s
19. #20 Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident 49:07.823s + 80.119s
20. #27 Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia + 1 lap (29 laps)
21. #4 Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax + 1 laps (29 laps)
22. #22 Brendon Hartley Ocean Racing Technology + 1 laps (29 laps)


#24 Max Chilton Carlin (after 2 laps)#14 Julian Kral Arden (after 1 laps)#15 Jolyon Palmer Arden (after 1 laps)#18 Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni (after 1 laps)



Loading Comments...