Josef Kral got the best launch off the grid from fifth place at the start of the Spa sprint race, and when a series of incidents on the first lap thinned out the field of some of the leading threats around him, the Barwa Addax driver emerged in front and managed to hold off James Calado for the rest of the race.

Calado himself lost his expected second place finish when he was out-powered by Felipe Nasr out of the final corner on the last lap, but the Briton still managed to hold on to the final podium position across the line ahead of Saturday's feature race winner Marcus Ericsson in fourth.

It was a disastrous day for the championship leaders. Davide Valsecchi was caught out in a sandwich between Giedo van der Garde and Julian Leal out of the first corner, and then crashed into the barrier down the Kemmel Straight seeking to avoid a spinning Luiz Razia. Valsecchi retired, while Razia limped home well out of the points, meaning the pair leave Spa tied in the lead in the drivers' title battle.

Sprint race 2 results

1. #2 Josef Kr?l Barwa Addax 36:59.474s (18 laps)
2. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS + 5.109s
3. #9 James Calado Lotus GP + 5.290s
4. #7 Marcus Ericsson iSport + 6.335s
5. #5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 11.041s
6. #16 St?phane Richelmi Trident Racing + 24.694s
7. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin + 25.237s
8. #14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni + 25.957s
9. #17 Juli?n Leal Trident Racing + 26.257s
10. #8 Jolyon Palmer iSport + 27.441s
11. #21 Daniel de Jong Rapax + 32.681s
12. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni + 35.830s
13. #10 Esteban Guti?rrez Lotus GP + 35.928s
14. #11 Rodolfo Gonz?lez Caterham Racing + 37.222s
15. #20 Ricardo Teixeira Rapax + 37.867s
16. #22 Simon Trummer Arden + 38.387s
17. #19 Ren? Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus + 41.470s
18. #24 Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology + 47.175s
19. #6 Nathana?l Berthon Racing Engineering + 52.735s
20. #23 Luiz Razia Arden + 56.434s
21. #12 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing + 79.121s
22. #26 Max Chilton Carlin + 82.927s


#18 Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus (on lap 9)#3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS (on lap 9)#1 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Barwa Addax (on lap 0)

Did not start

#25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology (car damaged on Saturday)



Loading Comments...