A flying start from the second row of the grid saw ART's James Calado slice right between the middle of front row men Johnny Cecotto Jr. (Arden) and Felipe Nasr (Carlin) at the start of the Sunday sprint race which concluded the 2013 GP2 championship. It was a perfect performance by Calado, who had his sights set on third place in this year's drivers championship behind Fabio Leimer and Sam Bird.

Similarly motivated was the Carlin team, looking to consolidate their newly acquired lead in the team championship over Russian Time. However, things went wrong from the start when Nasr made contact with Cecotto at the first corner: as well as picking up front wing damage, Nasr was also handed a drive-thru for causing the collision which sent him to pit lane twice and effectively ended his participation in the race and the championship.

Nasr's team mate Jolyon Palmer had scarcely more luck as he dropped out of the points to 11th and then suffered a left rear puncture shortly after a robust battle for position with Julian Leal. That sent Palmer into pit lane where he retired, and meant that by finishing in fourth place Sam Bird was able to clinch the team title for Russian Time in their maiden season in GP2, just eight months after taking over from iSport International.

Calado was able to hold on to the win despite late pressure from MP Motorsport's Dani Clos, and with Nasr out of the running it meant he had succeeded in clinching third place in the driver standings in his final GP2 race with ART. Joining Calado and Clos on the podium was the newly-crowned 2013 GP2 champion Fabio Leimer, finally getting to take a bow before the crowd as the feeder series signed off for the year.

Sprint race results

1. #3 James Calado ART GP 44:04.124s (22 laps)
2. #26 Dani Clos MP Motorsport + 0.787s
3. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 4.965s
4. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time + 9.440s
5. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP + 9.957s
6. #1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS + 11.981s
7. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax + 13.188s
8. #14 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing + 16.432s
9. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax + 18.117s
10. #7 Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering + 18.487s
11. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax + 24.753s
12. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax + 33.689s
13. #20 Nathana?l Berthon Trident Racing + 34.153s
14. #6 Mitch Evans Arden + 34.485s
15. #21 GianMarco Raimondo Trident Racing + 36.123s
16. #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus + 36.884s
17. #27 Dani?l de Jong MP Motorsport + 37.471s
18. #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin + 40.271s
19. #25 Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus + 41.869s
20. #2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS + 79.122s
21. #22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport + 3 laps

Retirements#10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin (retired on lap 17)#23 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport (retired on lap 9)#5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden (retired on lap 1)#15 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing (retired on lap 1)

Fastest lap#2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS 1:51.817 (111.109mph) on lap 21

Championship standings

1. Fabio Leimer 201pts
2. Sam Bird 181pts
3. James Calado 157pts
4. Felipe Nasr 154pts
5. Stefano Coletti 135pts
6. Marcus Ericsson 121pts
7. Jolyon Palmer 119pts
8. Stephane Richelmi 103pts
9. Alexander Rossi 92pts
10. Tom Dillmann 92pts
11. Jon Lancaster 73pts
12. Julian Leal 62pts
13. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs 56pts
14. Mitch Evans 56pts
15. Robin Frijns 47pts
16. Johnny Cecotto Jr. 41pts
17. Kevin Ceccon 28pts
18. Daniel Clos 25pts
19. Rio Haryanto 22pts
20. Nathanael Berthon 21pts
21. Simon Trummer 20pts
22. Daniel Abt 11pts
23. Rene Binder 11pts
24. Daniel de Jong 3pts
25. Sergio Canamasas 3pts
26. Conor Daly 2pts
27. Vittorio Ghirelli 1pts

1. Russian Time 273pts
2. Carlin 273pts
3. Racing Engineering 263pts
4. DAMS 224pts
5. ART GP 168pts
6. Hilmer Motorsport 155pts
7. Rapax 155pts
8. Arden International 97pts
9. EQ8 Caterham Racing 95pts
10. MP Motorsport 51pts
11. Trident Racing 49pts
12. Barwa Addax Team 22pts
13. Venezuela GP Lazarus 12pts



Loading Comments...