The Wayne Taylor Racing #10 SunTrust Dallara Daytona Prototype will be powered by a Ford engine next season, it was announced today.

The SunTrust Racing programme had been powered by Pontiac since joining the Rolex Series in 2004, and in 66 races over the past five seasons had scored 12 wins, 33 podium finishes, 43 top-fives and 10 pole positions.

Now though the team will switch to a Ford power-plant built by Roush Yates Engines, which is a leading engine builder in NASCAR's Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Craftsman Truck Series, as well as the Rolex Series and FIA GT.

"We are looking forward to turning the page to a new chapter in our racing endeavours with Ford power and Roush Yates engines, even though I'll admit it was one of the most difficult decisions I have had to make in all my years in the business," said team owner Wayne Taylor.

"It's difficult for me, personally, because GM [General Motors] has been a big part of my racing success since I came to this country in 1989. I've won two championships with GM power, two 24-hour races and the 12 Hours of Sebring."

Ford-powered Daytona Prototypes, all featuring Roush Yates Engines, won four of the last five Rolex Series races in 2008 and qualified on the pole four times in 14 events overall.

"We are excited to have SunTrust and Wayne Taylor Racing join our line-up," added John Maddox, sports car racing support manager for Roush Yates Engines. "As a sponsor and a racing operation, SunTrust and Wayne Taylor Racing certainly have a winning tradition, and they are known for a level of quality and performance as competitors' that is second to none."

The SunTrust team, which carries associate sponsorship from Toshiba America Business Solutions, Inc., and Miracle Sealants, will take to the track for the first time with Roush Yates Engines at the annual Rolex 24 test days in January.

In a separate development meanwhile the team added that Max Angelelli will be joined by a new co-driver in 2009 - namely Brian Frisselle.



Loading Comments...