Team from the Grand Am Rolex Series will kick-start their plans for 2009 this weekend with the traditional three day test session at Daytona International Speedway.

The 'Roar before the Rolex 24' test will be the lone test scheduled at the circuit ahead of the round the clock event at the Florida venue, with almost 50 cars from the Rolex Series set to hit the track.

TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates will have a pair of Lexus-powered Rileys in action in preparation for a potential fourth consecutive victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona, including the #01 of defending series champions Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas.

Five-time Rolex 24 at Daytona winner Hurley Haywood is part of a two-car Brumos Racing entry, with Michael Shank Racing, Penske Racing and Krohn Racing also entering two cars. Other entries include 2007 co-champions Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty for GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing, with three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson set to join them for the Rolex 24.

Also on the list are 2005 Rolex 24 winners and series champions Max Angelelli and Wayne Taylor; 1995 Rolex 24 winner Christophe Bouchut, for Level Five Motorsports; Childress-Howard Motorsports, making its Rolex 24 debut with three-time event winner Andy Wallace; and Spirit of Daytona Racing, featuring motorcycle champions Scott Russell, Jeff Ward and Jason Pridmore.

Several of the teams, including Ganassi, Penske and Shank, are also expected to announce their Rolex 24 driver line-ups at the test.

TRG and Farnbacher Loles Racing both have five Porsche GT3s entered in the test to head the GT line-up. Defending Rolex 24 class winner SpeedSource will have a pair of Mazda RX-8s, while 2008 champions Kelly Collins and Paul Edwards share the #07 Banner Racing Pontiac GXP.R with Jan Magnussen.

The GT entry also includes three Corvettes and a pair of Ferrari 430s.



Loading Comments...