Defending Rolex 24 champion Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates has revealed which of its star-studded driver options will be 'paired' together for this month's return to Daytona as it attempts to land a fourth straight win in the classic event.

A two-car effort will feature six drivers representing some of the best talent from around the globe, with Juan Pablo Montoya joining Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas to reunite three parts of the victorious four-man 2008 line-up in the #01 TELMEX/Target Daytona Prototype. The #02 car, meanwhile, will feature Team Target IndyCar pilots Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti, along with Ganassi prot?g? Alex Lloyd, following Dan Wheldon's exit from the team's IRL squad. Salvador Duran is the other member of the 2008 roster not returning this year.

Last year, the team became the first in history to win three consecutive overall titles in the Rolex 24, while Pruett and Montoya's back-to-back wins marked the first time that drivers had earned repeat victories in the race since 1986 and 1987 when Derek Bell, Al Unser Jr and Al Holbert accomplished the feat.

Montoya also became the first driver in Rolex 24 history to win in each of his first two starts, while Franchitti is the first driver ever to capture the 12 Hours of Sebring, Indianapolis 500, an open-wheel title - the 2007 IRL crown - and the Rolex 24 consecutively, accomplishing the feat in less than a year. Mario Andretti and AJ Foyt are the only others to win the four titles, but neither did so in succession.

Last year's victory added to Pruett's already all-time best eight class victories at the Rolex 24 and record 15th overall Rolex Series wins. It was his third overall win in the Daytona season-opener after also taking the chequered flag first in 1994 and 2007, and helped to kick-start a Rolex Series campaign that rewrote the record books.

CGRFS has led 1257 laps - more than 60 per cent of the total - in the past three years, and 720 out of a possible 1363 in the past two races alone. It won last year's race by two laps over the GAINSCO/Bob Stallings car of Alex Gurney, Jon Fogarty, Jimmie Johnson and former Ganassi Champ Car favourite Jimmy Vasser.



Loading Comments...