Dario Franchitti netted a pay day of nearly $2.5 million dollars for himself and his team on Sunday after winning the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500.

As impressive as that sounds, the $2,474,280 that he won this year is actually still down a little on the amount he walked away with in 2010 for winning his second Indy 500 title, when he and the Ganassi team received $2,752,055. It's even a little short of the amount that 2011 Indy 500 champion Dan Wheldon received for his upset win, which saw the Englishman receive $2,567,255.

But it's still a huge step forward on the amount that Franchitti won for his first Indy 500 win back in 2007 which saw him receive a comparatively paltry $1,645,233. In total, Franchitti's three Indy 500 titles have come with a $6,871,568 cash reward attached to them.

This year's money comes from an overall race prize purse of $13,285,815 that is split between the entrants depending on their performance in qualification, places made up during the race, laps led - and of course their final finishing position. How the funds are shared out between the driver and his team depends on their specific commercial arrangements and business deals.

Franchitti's team mate Scott Dixon will receive just over a million dollars for coming second, making it a very lucrative pay day for Ganassi as a whole, while third place Tony Kanaan takes away just over six hundred thousand dollars for his efforts.

Takuma Sato - who was neck-and-neck with Franchitti going into the last lap of the race before spinning out and crashing in turn 1 - gets $301,755 after finishing in 17th place in the official standings.

And despite ending up dead last after being black flagged for insufficient speed just ten laps into the race, Jean Alesi and his Fan Force United scratch team still find it worthwhile being at Indianapolis to the tune of $251,555. That was just $57,375 less than Helio Castroneves ($308,930), whose quiet run to 10th place did relatively little to hit the money-paying points in IndyCar's complex payment matrix system for dividing the prize money.

By contrast, Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Oriol Servia receives $443,430 after climbing 23 spots from his 27th starting position to finish in fourth place, more positions gained during the race than any other driver on Sunday.

Alesi's fellow former F1 driver Rubens Barrichello takes away $331,080 and also receives the Chase Indy 500 Rookie of the Year award as the highest-placed rookie after his 11th place finish in the race.

"I'm a rookie," he laughed. "I'm sitting here because I'm a rookie. I have 'Rubens Barrichello, Rookie'!" to which Tony Kanaan replied: "The oldest rookie we've ever seen." Barrichello turned 40 on May 23, just four days before the big race.

The awards and cheques were handed out at the traditional Monday night Indy 500 banquet event celebrating one of the most successful runnings of the 'greatest spectacle in motor sport' seen in recent years.

"Congratulations, that was the best Indy 500 I've ever seen," NASCAR Sprint Cup champion and former IndyCar series champion Tony Stewart said in a text to IndyCar CEO Randy Bernard after the race.

"We've never raced that well in the seven times I've run here and I've never experienced such a fun race with so much passing," agreed Ryan Briscoe, the polesitter for Sunday's race. "It had to be a pretty good show for the fans."

"It was wild, it was intense, it was hot and it was fun," summed up race winner Dario Franchitti.

Prize money

1. #50 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda $2,474,280
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda $1,102,280
3. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet $636,580
4. #22 Oriol Servia Panther/DRR Chevrolet $443,430
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe Penske Chevrolet $489,930
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet $357,680
7. #18 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda $303,430
8. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda $277,655
9. #99 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt Honda $251,305
10. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet $308,930
11. #8 Rubens Barrichello KV Racing Chevrolet $331,080
12. #98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Honda $252,205
13. #38 Graham Rahal Ganassi Honda $306,680
14. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Chevrolet $306,680
15. #19 James Jakes Dale Coyne Honda $252,555
16. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton Honda $303,680
17. #15 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda $301,755
18. #5 EJ Viso KV Racing Chevrolet $303,430
19. #30 Michel Jourdain Jr. Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda $253,305
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet $252,805
21. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet $304,930
22. #6 Katherine Legge Dragon Chevrolet $303,680
23. #25 Ana Beatriz Andretti-Conquest Chevrolet $252,805
24. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet $368,480
25. #67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda $257,805
26. #17 Sebastian Saavedra AFS-Andretti Chevrolet $256,305
27. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet $346,680
28. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet $310,430
29. #14 Mike Conway AJ Foyt Honda $305,430
30. #39 Bryan Clauson Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda $258,055
31. #41 Wade Cunningham AJ Foyt Honda $251,555
32. #78 Simona de Silvestro HVM Lotus $303,430
33. #64 Jean Alesi Fan Force United Lotus $251,555



Loading Comments...