Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2012:9. Justin Wilson

Birthplace: Sheffield, EnglandBirthdate: July 31, 1978Team: Dale Coyne Racing2012 starts: 15Poles: 0Wins: 1Top 5: 1Top 10: 6Championship points: 278Championship position: IndyCar Driver of 2011 position: 14th

Justin Wilson makes it into the top ten in the 2012 IndyCar Driver of the Year ballot, after finding his way back to victory lane for the first time since he emerged victorious at Watkins Glen in 2009.

Wilson's win coincides with a return to Dale Coyne Racing after a two-year stint over at Dreyer & Reinbold which ended prematurely last season when he injured his back in a practice accident at Mid-Ohio. Fortunately Wilson demonstrated that he was back on top form right out of the gate after being part of the winning team in the 50th Rolex 24 at Daytona in January.

It's a bit of a shame that Wilson's 2012 win at Texas was slightly tarnished by the subsequent revelation that the team had used the wrong sidepod top deck aerodynamic element: as it hadn't been spotted by the technical scrutineers before the event it was decided that the race result should stand and Wilson kept his well-deserved victory - and duly gets handed ninth place by voters!

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2012 results so far:9. Justin Wilson10. Dario Franchitti



Loading Comments...