Double IRL IndyCar Series champion Sam Hornish Jr. has been nominated for the Speed Channel Presents Driver of the Year 2003 Fourth Quarter award.

Hornish, who finished fifth in the 2003 IndyCar Series point standings, earned victories in the Delphi Indy 300 September 7th at Chicagoland Speedway and the Toyota Indy 400 September 21st at California Speedway. He was named the Driver of the Year for the First Quarter in 2002.

The Driver of the Year award is in its 37th year. Awards are given out quarterly during the racing season, before the end of the year award is given.

The awards are determined by an independent vote of an 18-member panel of auto racing journalists and broadcasters, with an additional vote based on the cumulative tally of fan voting at

The winner of the fourth quarter award will be given a trophy and a Maurice Lacroix Swiss Watch, the official watch of the Driver of the Year. Later in the year, a separate vote will take place to determine the 2003 Driver of the Year.

Other 'fourth quarter' nominees are NASCAR drivers Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr, drag racers Greg Anderson and Kenny Bernstein, Trans-Am veteran Scott Pruett and World of Outlaws hero Steve Kinser.



Loading Comments...