CART champions Paul Tracy and AJ Allmendinger secured their respective titles more than a month ago, but the accolades continue to roll in for two of the season's best drivers as the awards season gets into top gear.

Tracy and Allmendinger were recognised for their respective championship campaigns by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association [AARWBA] on Saturday, as it announced that balloting results for the prestigious Auto Racing All-American Team named both drivers as first-team 'All Americans'.

Tracy earned the third first-team award of his career after winning the Champ Car World Series title for the first time, and shared the first-team award in the open-wheel category with former CART champion Gil de Ferran and former CART Indy Lights champion Scott Dixon, both of whom achieved success in the rival Indy Racing League, winning the Indy 500 and IRL title respectively. Allmendinger earned his maiden first-team honour after claiming the Atlantic title in his rookie season, joining Infiniti Pro Series champion Mark Taylor on the first team.

Both Tracy and Allmendinger used seven-victory seasons to win their respective divisions, with the Canadian leading his Player's/Forsythe Racing squad to the title with seven victories and six poles, and Allmendinger carrying the first-year RuSPORT team to the Atlantic championship with seven wins just one months after earning the 2002 Barber Dodge Pro Series title.



Loading Comments...