Indy Racing League stars Gil de Ferran, Scott Dixon, Sam Hornish Jr and Mark Taylor were selected to the 2003 Auto Racing All-America team, officials from the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association [AARWBA] confirmed at the weekend.

de Ferran, who won the 2003 Indianapolis 500 driving for Team Penske, and Dixon, who won the 2003 IRL championship for Chip Ganassi, were both selected to the 'first team' in the open wheel category. It was de Ferran's third such selection, while Dixon had previously been selected to the first team in the 'At Large' category in 2000.

Dixon won the series championship - his first major crown - by scoring three victories and finishing second five times. de Ferran added wins at Nashville and Texas to his success at Indianapolis, and finished second in points despite missing a race at Japan due to injury. In August, he announced he would retire following the season, and he finished his career in spectacular style by winning from pole in his final race at Texas.

The Brazilian received the most votes in the ballot, while Dixon tied with CART champion Paul Tracy for second place, causing three members to be selected to the first team.

Taylor, who won the 2003 Menards Infiniti Pro Series for Panther Racing, was selected to the first team in the 'At Large' category. He dominated the IRL support series, scoring a record seven wins and clinching the championship with one race remaining.

Two-time IndyCar Series champion Hornish was selected to the second team in the open wheel category. He finished fifth in points in 2003 and scored three victories, including winning the fastest race ever, when he averaged 207.151mph en route to victory at California Speedway in September.



Loading Comments...