That's it, here's your 2013 IndyCar Driver of the Year in full, with the final averaged ratings (out of ten) for all 24 drivers:

The top ten

1. Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing) - rated 8.231
2. James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport) - rated 7.191
3. Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology) - rated 7.137
4. Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) - rated 6.976
5. Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt-Hamilton Motorport) - rated 6.749
6. Dario Franchitti (Chip Ganassi Racing) - rated 6.678
7. Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing) - rated 6.292
8. Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing) - rated 6.168
9. Simona de Silvestro (KV Racing Technology) - rated 6.14
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport) - rated 6.132

11. Will Power (Team Penske) - rated 6.08
12. Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing) - rated 5.657
13. Sebastien Bourdais (Dragon Racing) - rated 5.547
14. Mike Conway (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing/Dale Coyne Racing) - rated 5.422
15. Takuma Sato (AJ Foyt Racing) - rated 5.195
16. Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport) - rated 5.135
17. Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing) - rated 4.848
18. Oriol Servia (Dreyer and Reinbold Racing/Panther Racing) - rated 4.787
19. James Jakes (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) - rated 4.337
20. Alex Tagliani (Bryan Herta Autosport/Chip Ganassi Racing) - rated 4.321
21. Tristan Vautier (Schmidt-Peterson Motorsport) - rated 4.091
22. Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) - rated 4.018
23. EJ Viso (HVM-Team Venezuela-Andretti Autosport) - rated 3.362
24. Sebastian Saavedra (Dragon Racing) - rated 3.124

Once again you voted in your thousands for this year's IndyCar Driver of the Year, and we're thrilled by your interest, enthusiasm and passion for IndyCar racing in 2013!

We've already unveiled the top ten, so you know that Scott Dixon has added this year's accolade to the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series championship that he picked up in the final race of the year in California, but now you can see just what a huge lead he had in the voting - he was over a full point clear of runner-up James Hinchcliffe, a huge achievement! And a great showing by the young Canadian, too, to just hold off the very popular 2013 Indianapolis 500 champion Tony Kanaan to that second place.

It's great to see Simona de Silvestro rewarded with a top ten place for her break-through podium at Houston, and Charlie Kimball also jump up into the top ten for the first time after taking his maiden win at Mid-Ohio. But what about the rest who didn't make it that high in our final standings in 2013?

We admit, we were very surprised to see Will Power ejected and left to languish in 11th place this year. That's after he came in second place in the last two Driver of the Year votes, so that's a big fall for the Australian and a reflection of just how unimpressed you were with his form in 2013.

He finished just ahead of Josef Newgarden who is actually up five places this year compared with 2012, putting him just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais who drops out of the top ten despite three podium finishes this year even though he's been driving for minnow team Dragon Racing. Maybe the move to KV Racing Technology - the team that won this year's Indy 500 - will put him back in your good books in next year's Driver of the Year selection?

We were a little surprised that Mike Conway didn't feature slightly higher in your estimations on the back of that stunning comeback to IndyCar at Detroit early in the summer. We thought that we'd seen the last of the English driver after his decision at the end of 2012 to quit oval racing, but now we know he'll be back in 2014 taking the #67 Ed Carpenter Racing car for road events while Ed himself stick to what he does best - pulling off upset wins at ovals, although he just missed out on a back-to-back victory this year at Fontana.

Despite being one of the first-time winners in 2013, you were distinctly unimpressed with former F1 driver Takuma Sato, and you also seem to find Marco Andretti tough to love despite this being one of his best seasons in IndyCar so car where he led the championship for a spell early on. Oriol Servia's successful comeback after being left without a team after Indianapolis didn't move you either, and you left this season's Rookie of the Year Tristan Vautier in a distinctly underwhelmed 21st place just ahead of Graham Rahal.

But when it came to awarding the wooden spoon in this year's Driver of the Year vote, you were clear that it was a run-off between HVM-Andretti Autosport's EJ Viso form Venezuela and Dragon Racing's Sebastian Saavedra from Colombia. Arguably it's Viso who should be judged more harshly of the two - he has more experience in the series and also had the backing of the formidable Andretti organisation - but there's no question that Saavedra was virtually visible all season long and so he gives us little reason to dispute your decision to put him at the bottom of the pile for 2013.

We don't know whether either man will be back for another go in 2014, but one driver we know will not be in the running for the next Driver of the Year is Dario Franchitti. When the pole started, we weren't aware that he would be forced to retire from racing as a result of the injuries from which he's still convalescing that he sustained in the horrific crash at the penultimate event of the season at Houston. No doubt sentiment played a part in the Scot signing off his IndyCar career with sixth place in the Driver of the Year vote, but surely no one begrudges that - it's the least we can do to say thanks for all the years we've been watching him compete at the highest levels of open-wheel racing.



Loading Comments...