Champ Car World Series Champion Sebastien Bourdais heads a list of three CCWS drivers who have successfully made their way onto the voting ballot for the 2004 Auto Racing All America team.

With almost 300 members of the US Motorsports press set to cast their votes in the coming weeks, the three Champ Car drivers are amongst a group of half a dozen open wheel stars battling for just two places on the final ARAA team.

The team, which features seven separate categories, Open Wheel, Stock Car, Road Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track, Touring Series and 'At Large,' has been selected by members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) every year since 1970.

Two from each category will be named to the first team, to be honoured at the annual AARWBA banquet next January in Pomona, California. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award honours the team's top driver - the one earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category.

The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honourable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote.

Bourdais is nominated for the second time in his two-year career thus far in the Champ Car World Series. Claiming seven overall wins en-route to the 2004 title, Bourdais earned a honourable mention as a rookie in 2003.

For Bruno Junqueira, this represents his first appearance on the ballot in a year that saw him finish runner-up in the Championship again while Paul Tracy, who finished fourth in points, has already been selected to the first team on three previous occasions.

In the 'At Large' category, Toyota Atlantic Champion Jon Fogarty earns his first nomination after a year that saw him claim six victories and his second TA title despite not having a drive at the start of the year.

Among those on the ballot are former Jerry Titus Award winners John Force, Jeff Gordon and Tommy Kendall - every winner between 1995 to 2002 - as well as the driver who has been All-American more than any other, sprint star Steve Kinser, who seeks his 22nd such selection this season.



Loading Comments...