Final qualifying for Sunday's Molson Indy Montreal saw one driver cruise to the top of the time charts on the Isle Notre Dame, home of the famed Circuit-Gilles Villeneuve.

As has been the case in every Champ Car session this weekend in Montreal, Sebastien Bourdais sailed to the top of the speed charts after waiting on pit lane to see if any driver would eclipse his provisional pole time set on Friday. Once Justin Wilson claimed the top spot 11 minutes into the 35-minute qualifying session Bourdais entered the fray in his McDonald's machine and reclaimed the top spot on his fourth circuit of the 2.709-mile road course.

The Bridgestone Pole Award is the fourth of the season for Bourdais, who now has 17 career poles in 42 Champ Car events. Bourdais is now tied for 12th with Emerson Fittipaldi on the Champ Car's all-time pole winners list. Bourdais' lap of 1:20.396secs (121.305 mph) was more than half-a-second quicker than the second place qualifier.

Bourdais' Newman/Haas teammate Oriol Servia matched his career-best qualifying effort of second, first set in Montreal in 2003. Servia posted his flyer time of 1:20.698secs (120.851 mph) to move up five spots on the grid as J.D. Wilbur flew the chequered flag. Wilson earned the third starting spot for the Molson Indy Montreal after twice being knocked off the top spot with a time of 1:20.932secs (120.501 mph).

At the drop of the green flag Paul Tracy was the only driver to enter the course and by the time he had his Bridgestone Potenzas up to temperature for flying laps, a quarter of the field had joined him on the track. Wilson struck first, moving to the top of the charts. His teammate A.J. Allmendinger then knocked him off the top spot. As Allmendinger posted his time, Bourdais peeled off of pit lane and on his fourth lap claimed the top spot for good, bettering his lap on his sixth trip around and setting the eventual pole time.

Following Friday's qualifying session, which was cut short by a late red flag, Saturday's session ran without a single stoppage by the scarlet banner.

Tracy and fellow Canadian Alex Tagliani will make up the third row of Sunday's starting grid. Tracy posted a best lap of 1:20.954secs (120.468 mph) and Tagliani wowed his hometown crowd with a late lap at 1:21.160secs (120.163 mph).

Mario Dominguez and Cristiano da Matta will make-up the fourth row. Timo Glock is the top starting Roshfrans Rookie-of-the-Year contender, as he will take the green flag from the 11th spot. His closest competitor in the chase for the ROY title, Ronnie Bremer will start 17th.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ricardo Sperafico both failed to post a time in Friday's qualifying session. Hunter-Reay turned in a top lap on Saturday at 1:22.285secs (118.520 mph), which was good enough for the 13th starting spot. Sperafico best lap at 1:22.917secs (117.616 mph) earned him the 16th spot on the grid.



Loading Comments...