James Hinchcliffe will start the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 from pole position in an extraordinary comeback performance a year on from his near fatal accident at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

As the last driver to head out in the Fast Nine shootout having topped provisional qualifying, Hinchcliffe's four-lap run in the Schmidt Peterson car would see him clock a 230.760mph average, denying Josef Newgarden the top spot.

A veritable fairytale story for the Canadian, Hinchcliffe was left fighting for his life at Indianapolis last year after a high speed smash left him with a series of injuries and putting him out for the remainder of the 2015 season.

Newgarden will get underway from second position in the Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet, with Ryan Hunter-Reay completed the front row, the latter arguably missing out on the top spot after a minor error on his final flyer.

Townsend Bell and Carlos Munoz make it three Andretti Autosport cars inside the top five, with Will Power completing the second row, while Mikhail Aleshin, championship leader Simon Pagenaud and Helio Castroneves make up row three.

Quickest in 'pre-qualifying' to determine positions 10-33, veteran Oriol Servia gets underway from 10th position, with Alex Rossi securing top rookie honours in 11th.

Elsewhere, Max Chilton starts his first Indy 500 from 22nd position in his rebuilt Chip Ganassi car, with fellow Briton Pippa Mann in 25th.



Loading Comments...