Six IndyCar Series drivers are on the ballot for the annual Auto Racing All-America team, which will be voted on by more than 300 members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association.

Two nominees from each of seven categories will be named to the 'first team', to be honoured at the annual AARWBA banquet in January, while the winner of the Jerry Titus Award, which honours the top vote-getter, regardless of category, will also be announced.

Team Penske's Ryan Briscoe is a first-time nominee in the open-wheel racing category, while former Jerry Titus Award winners Dan Wheldon and Tony Kanaan are also on the ballot, along with IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 champion Scott Dixon, championship runner-up Helio Castroneves and first-time race winner Danica Patrick.

Briscoe took his first IRL wins at the Milwaukee Mile and Mid-Ohio Sports Car course, driving the #6 Team Penske car, and also won the non-points race at Surfers Paradise last month to cap a strong season. Kanaan finished third and Wheldon fourth in the championship race, while Patrick, the first female to win a major closed-course auto race, at Motegi in April, finished a career-high sixth in the standings.

Raphael Matos, the new Firestone Indy Lights champion who will move to the IndyCar Series with Luczo Dragon Racing next year, is nominated in the 'at large' category.

Balloting will also determine a second team featuring the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, while honourable mentions will go to all other drivers receiving at least five per cent of the vote.



Loading Comments...