Scott Dixon has opened up his victory account for the 2016 IndyCar season with a comprehensive win on the series' return to the Phoenix International Raceway, putting him fourth on the all-time winners' list.

His 39th success in IndyCar, Dixon steadily worked his way up the order as early leaders Helio Castroneves - who started on pole - and race one winner Juan Pablo Montoya both suffered cut front tyres whilst leading during the early stages.

Handing the initiative to the Kiwi, Dixon held firm in the Chip Ganassi car to reel off his 20th oval success, a performance that lifts him to joint fourth with Al Unser for IndyCar victories, while he also becomes the first person to claim at least one win over 12 consecutive seasons of competition.

"It was tough, definitely one of the toughest races on these short ovals. The car was super-fast. I think we had the best car out there on strategies and pit stops."

Matching his result from the opening round, second place for Simon Pagenaud sees him climb to the top of the standings after two races, while Will Power bounced back from his first race withdrawal to get his season off the mark with a run to third place.

Tony Kanaan brought it home in fourth place, ahead of Graham Rahal, Josef Newgarden and Max Chilton, the ex-F1 driver impressing on his IndyCar oval debut to turn in a fine seventh place finish as the top rookie, ahead oof Sebastien Bourdais, the recovering Montoya and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

The race was finished under caution after Alex Rossi struck the wall with two laps remaining, though he was still classified 14th on his own IndyCar oval debut.



Loading Comments...