Scott Dixon topped the first practice at St Petersburg with a lap of 1:03.0406s (102.791mph) putting him almost half a second clear of second-place Ryan Briscoe, and improving on last year's time of 1:04.1437s in the same session.

The top Lotus-powered car of the session was Dreyer & Reinbold's Oriol Servia in 19th position, which still put him ahead of notable scalps Ed Carpenter and Rubens Barrichello, the former F1 driver ending up 24th after having to work hard to learn the street course and who only completed 8 laps.

Sebastien Bourdais got out on track despite mid-week fears that his Lotus engine might not be ready in time as a result of Dragon Racing having signed the engine supply deal for their second car after the original cut-off date. The four-time Champ Car champion even admitted that "I was getting my head around the fact we were not going to run," adding: "Now I've got to switch mode overnight and go racing."

Charlie Kimball was the subject of the only major incident during the first session when he ran off harmlessly into the tyre barrier at turn 10 late in the session. Dario Franchitti was among those who took to the run-off areas during the session without harm, while Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden only got 10 minutes of running in at the end of the session but still turned an impressive laptime to place 11th.

Practice 1

1. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 102.791mph 1m 03.0406s (15 laps)
2. #2 Ryan Briscoe (C) 102.017mph 1m 03.5190s + 0.4784s (18 laps)
3. #12 Will Power (C) 101.927mph 1m 03.5747s + 0.5341s (19 laps)
4. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 101.885mph 1m 03.6013s + 0.5607s (15 laps)
5. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 101.820mph 1m 03.6417s + 0.6011s (23 laps)
6. #18 Justin Wilson (H) 101.774mph 1m 03.6704s + 0.6298s (21 laps)
7. #26 Marco Andretti (C) 101.579mph 1m 03.7928s + 0.7522s (19 laps)
8. #14 Mike Conway (H) 101.514mph 1m 03.8333s + 0.7927s (20 laps)
9. #38 Graham Rahal (H) 101.484mph 1m 03.8522s + 0.8116s (16 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 101.452mph 1m 03.8728s + 0.8322s (15 laps)
11. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 101.445mph 1m 03.8772s + 0.8366s (8 laps)
12. #5 EJ Viso (C) 101.386mph 1m 03.9142s + 0.8736s (19 laps)
13. #19 James Jakes (H) 101.308mph 1m 03.9634s + 0.9228s (22 laps)
14. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 101.106mph 1m 04.0914s + 1.0508s (18 laps)
15. #15 Takuma Sato (H) 101.081mph 1m 04.1072s + 1.0666s (17 laps)
16. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 101.080mph 1m 04.1079s + 1.0673s (21 laps)
17. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 101.054mph 1m 04.1239s + 1.0833s (15 laps)
18. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 101.028mph 1m 04.1404s + 1.0998s (15 laps)
19. #22 Oriol Servia (L) 100.786mph 1m 04.2946s + 1.2540s (22 laps)
20. #98 Alex Tagliani (L) 100.643mph 1m 04.3861s + 1.3455s (21 laps)
21. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (L) 100.485mph 1m 04.4874s + 1.4468s (20 laps)
22. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 100.212mph 1m 04.6632s + 1.6226s (18 laps)
23. #78 Simona de Silvestro (L) 99.823mph 1m 04.9147s + 1.8741s (22 laps)
24. #8 Rubens Barrichello (C) 98.678mph 1m 05.6681s + 2.6275s (8 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 98.136mph 1m 06.0310s + 2.9904s (20 laps)
26. #6 Katherine Legge (L) 96.238mph 1m 07.3331s + 4.2925s (20 laps)

Total Laps: 467(H) = Honda, (C) = Chevrolet, (L) = Lotus


Loading Comments...