Will Power and Ryan Briscoe claimed the front row of the Honda Grand Prix Of St Petersburg, as Chevrolet powered dominated the first qualifying session of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

To confirm Chevy's strength, the second row will an all-Andretti Autosport line-up with Ryan Hunter-Reay alongside James Hinchcliffe. The best-performing Honda car was that of Simon Pagenaud but a penalty for an engine change drops him down the running order for the start of the race on Sunday afternoon.

Starting grid

1. Will Power Penske (C)
2. Ryan Briscoe Penske (C)
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport (C)
4. James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport (C)
5. Helio Castroneves Penske (C)
6. Scott Dixon Ganassi (H)
7. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport (C)
8. Tony Kanaan KV Racing Technology (C)
9. Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H)
10. Graham Rahal Ganassi (H)
11. Mike Conway AJ Foyt Racing (H)
12. EJ Viso KV Racing Technology (C)
13. Rubens Barrichello KV Racing Technology (C)
14. Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan (H)
15. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing (H)
16. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton (H) *
17. Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Autosport (L)
18. JR Hildebrand Panther Racing (C)
19. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing (H)
20. James Jakes Dale Coyne Racing (H)
21. Simona de Silvestro HVM (L)
22. Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H)
23. Oriol Servia Dreyer & Reinbold (L)
24. Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing (C)
25. Katherine Legge Lotus Dragon Racing (L)
26. Sebastien Bourdais Lotus Dragon Racing (L) **

* = Ten-place grid penalty for engine change** = Two fastest times deleted for causing a red flag


Loading Comments...