Andretti Autosport confirmed that they are the team of the moment in the IZOD IndyCar Series when it comes to ovals, following up last weekend's win at Milwaukee with a second consecutive victory for Ryan Hunter-Reay this week at Iowa, and likely only missing out on a 1-2-3 lock-out because of a late crash for James Hinchcliffe.

Hunter-Reay won ahead of last year's Iowa winner Marco Andretti with Tony Kanaan picking up third under a safety car triggered by a spin from Katherine Legge at the end of a rain-delayed night race on the 0.875-mile oval, Hunter-Reay having overhauled longtime race leader Scott Dixon who had been attempting a different fuel strategy in order to challenge to the win until the closing laps. Dixon ended up in fourth.

Simon Pagenaud had an astounding run in only his fourth oval outing in his IndyCar rookie season, running thrilling side-by-side battles with Justin Wilson and Tony Kanaan in the final stages to finish in fifth place after starting dead last. Another rookie, Rubens Barrichello, also did well to hold off a late charging Ed Carpenter and finish seventh behind another former race leader, Helio Castroneves.

It was a costly night for many of the points leaders: as well as Hinchcliffe's late spin, Will Power crashed with EJ Viso on lap 67 and Ryan Briscoe got taken out by Josef Newgarden while in the lead on lap 178. Oriol Servia retired with fire damage from a refuelling spill, and polesitter Dario Franchitti didn't even make it to the green flag before his engine went up in smoke.

Race results

1. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport (C) 1:43:39.3031s (250 laps)
2. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport (C) + 0.1103s
3. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) + 2.7245s
4. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) + 3.0075s
5. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton (H) + 3.8468s
6. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) + 5.3061s
7. #8 Rubens Barrichello KV Racing (C) + 5.9890s
8. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing (C) + 6.9856s
9. #38 Graham Rahal Ganassi (H) + 7.1607s
10. #18 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing (H) + 1 lap
11. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) + 2 laps
12. #15 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan (H) + 3 laps
13. #19 James Jakes Dale Coyne Racing (H) + 5 laps
14. #78 Simona de Silvestro HVM Racing (L) + 6 laps


#6 Katherine Legge Dragon Racing (C) on lap 243 Contact#98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Autosport (H) on lap 207 Mechanical#27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport (C) on lap 195 Contact#2 Ryan Briscoe Penske (C) on lap 178 Contact#67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing (H) on lap 178 Contact#14 Mike Conway AJ Foyt Racing (H) on lap 123 Mechanical#22 Oriol Servia Panther/DRR (C) on lap 98 Mechanical#4 JR Hildebrand Panther (C) on lap 95 Contact#12 Will Power Penske (C) on lap 67 Contact#5 EJ Viso KV Racing (C) on lap 67 Contact#10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) on lap 0 Mechanical

(H)=Honda, (C)=Chevrolet, (L)=Lotus


Loading Comments...