After rookie Tristan Vautier had topped the first practice session at Barber Motorsports Park, the top of the timesheet was back in safe hands later in the day in the form of one of the most experienced drivers in the IZOD IndyCar Series, Penske's Helio Castroneves.

The Brazilian's time of 1:08.5540s was almost half a second faster than the best time of the earlier session, and was 0.078s faster than Bryan Herta Autosport's Alex Tagliani who claimed second spot ahead of Vautier and his Schmidt team mate Simon Pagenaud. The top six was rounded out by Castroneves' team mate and Ganassi's Scott Dixon.

The third Penske driver this weekend, AJ Allmendinger, managed to finish in the top ten again with the eighth fastest time, although he admitted that he was still not comfortable going into his first race weekend in IndyCar: "It kind of feels like a unicycle right now," he said afterwards. "I'm hanging on, trying to figure out what I am doing."

Justin Wilson had a more successful outing in the afternoon with the 11th fastest time. He'd struggled in the opening practice with brake problems, but these seemed to have been largely resolved for the later outing. However, his Dale Coyne Racing team mate Ana Beatriz continued to foot the timing screens just as she had in the first session.

EJ Viso brought out the sole red flag of the session ten minutes before the end when he went off at turn 9 and beached the #5 Andretti-HVM in the gravel

Practice 2 times

1. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 120.781mph 1:08.5540s (13 laps)
2. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 120.649mph 1:08.6288s + 0.0748s (12 laps)
3. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 120.573mph 1:08.6720s + 0.1180s (7 laps)
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 120.414mph 1:08.7627s + 0.2087s (10 laps)
5. #12 Will Power (C) 120.337mph 1:08.8066s + 0.2526s (17 laps)
6. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 120.271mph 1:08.8446s + 0.2906s (10 laps)
7. #5 EJ Viso (C) 120.252mph 1:08.8556s + 0.3016s (13 laps)
8. #2 AJ Allmendinger (C) 120.153mph 1:08.9119s + 0.3579s (5 laps)
9. #16 James Jakes (H) 120.091mph 1:08.9479s + 0.3939s (7 laps)
10. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 120.032mph 1:08.9817s + 0.4277s (16 laps)
11. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 120.014mph 1:08.9917s + 0.4377s (15 laps)
12. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 119.909mph 1:09.0524s + 0.4984s (9 laps)
13. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 119.760mph 1:09.1384s + 0.5844s (16 laps)
14. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 119.663mph 1:09.1942s + 0.6402s (15 laps)
15. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 119.549mph 1:09.2602s + 0.7062s (9 laps)
16. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 119.523mph 1:09.2755s + 0.7215s (14 laps)
17. #78 Simona de Silvestro (C) 119.519mph 1:09.2779s + 0.7239s (16 laps)
18. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 119.440mph 1:09.3234 + 0.7694s (12 laps)
19. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 119.403mph 1:09.3452s + 0.7912s (14 laps)
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 119.398mph 1:09.3480s + 0.7940s (13 laps)
21. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 119.122mph 1:09.5084s + 0.9544s (17 laps)
22. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 118.912mph 1:09.6315s + 1.0775s (18 laps)
23. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 118.765mph 1:09.7176s + 1.1636s (16 laps)
24. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 117.790mph 1:10.2947s + 1.7407s (18 laps)
25. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 117.540mph 1:10.4443s + 1.8903s (15 laps)
26. #18 Ana Beatriz (H) 116.233mph 1:11.2361s + 2.6821s (16 laps)
Total laps: 343


Loading Comments...