Penske's Will Power proved to determined to carry on his winning roll from last week in Sonoma by convincingly topping the first practice timesheets in Baltimore on Friday morning.

His time of 1:20.8632s (90.820mph) on the 2.04-mile, 12-turn downtown street course put him over a quarter of a second clear of EJ Viso who placed second in the Team Venezuela-Andretti Autosport-HVM #5 entry.

Oriol Servia, returning to competition in the #4 National Guard Panther Racing car for the rest of the season, was third fastest ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan's Graham Rahal and Ganassi's Scott Dixon.

The session saw two red flag for incidents, the first for Sebastien Bourdais stopping the Dragon Racing #7 at turn 5 just three minutes into the session, and the second for Stefan Wilson coming to a halt in the same runoff shortly before the midpoint of the session. There was a third stoppage to retrieve some debris between turns 4 and 5, and Tony Kanaan was also handed a drive-thru penalty for a pit lane violation.

It was Stefan Wilson's his first outing in the IZOD IndyCar Series as the latest team mate to his brother Justin at Dale Coyne Racing which has seen them dubbed "bromates" for the weekend.

"I described this as being thrown in the deep end without armbands on," said Stefan, who logged the most laps in the first 45 minute practice of the weekend. "After that first session I'd say its more like the ocean without armbands.

"There are so many electronics, he added, saying that he had been calling upon the advice of fellow former Indy Lights alumni such as James Hinchcliffe and Josef Newgarden to help get him up to speed in Baltimore. "You aren't just learning the car but also the electronics."

Practice 1 times

1. #12 Will Power (C) 90.820mph 1:20.8632s (9 laps)
2. #5 EJ Viso (C) 90.526mph 1:21.1256s + 0.2624s (16 laps)
3. #4 Oriol Servia (C) 90.335mph 1:21.2977s + 0.4345s (11 laps)
4. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 90.317mph 1:21.3134s + 0.4502s (13 laps)
5. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 90.305mph 1:21.3247s + 0.4615s (6 laps)
6. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 90.203mph 1:21.4165s + 0.5533s (15 laps)
7. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 90.163mph 1:21.4521s + 0.5889s (10 laps)
8. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 90.152mph 1:21.4625s + 0.5993s (13 laps)
9. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 90.059mph 1:21.5462s + 0.6830s (7 laps)
10. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 90.054mph 1:21.5508s + 0.6876s (14 laps)
11. #16 James Jakes (H) 89.947mph 1:21.6477s + 0.7845s (11 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 89.784mph 1:21.7964s + 0.9332s (11 laps)
13. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 89.779mph 1:21.8010s + 0.9378s (7 laps)
14. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 89.774mph 1:21.8058s + 0.9426s (11 laps)
15. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 89.727mph 1:21.8487s + 0.9855s (16 laps)
16. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 89.696mph 1:21.8769s + 1.0137s (12 laps)
17. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 89.423mph 1:22.1269s + 1.2637s (6 laps)
18. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 89.407mph 1:22.1411s + 1.2779s (10 laps)
19. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 89.372mph 1:22.1730s + 1.3098s (15 laps)
20. #78 Simona De Silvestro (C) 89.226mph 1:22.3078s + 1.4446s (18 laps)
21. #98 Luca Filippi (H) 88.922mph 1:22.5895s + 1.7263s (14 laps)
22. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 87.973mph 1:23.4799s + 2.6167s (5 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 86.559mph 1:24.8443s + 3.9811s (15 laps)
24. #18 Stefan Wilson (H) 86.117mph 1:25.2797s + 4.4165s (19 laps)

Total Laps: 284



Loading Comments...