The 2010 AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, schedule has been announced.

Once again, the championship will start at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and concluded at Las Vegas' Sam Boyd Stadium. The championship will feature 17 rounds, including a new stop at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, which replaces the old Texas Stadium.

"AMA Supercross is the premier competition of its kind on the planet," said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. "The AMA is pleased to once again be working with the FIM and Feld Motor Sports for the 2010 season to provide the world's stage where the best of the best will battle for championship honors. Since the beginning, AMA Supercross has grown in stature and significance. Today, the consolidated championship attracts the top riders from all over the globe. It's going to be another incredible season of competition."

Wolfgang Srb, President of the FIM Motocross Commission, stated that 2010 will be a transition year and that he expects the series to reflect its world championship status with more rounds outside the US in 2011. Presently, the only non-US round is an event at Rogers Centre, Toronto, Canada.

"The FIM considers 2010 as a transition year and is confident that Feld Motor Sports will export Monster Energy Supercross to new international horizons as of 2011," he said. "The fans that are supporting Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship worldwide deserve it."

"After looking at the 2010 AMA Supercross schedule, it's exciting to see where we will be competing at next year," said reigning champion James Stewart. "Most of the events will be similar to last year, but this year we're going to go to the new Cowboys Stadium, and it's the newest and biggest stadium in the United States. It's going to be fun to compete in the billion dollar Cowboys Stadium. Also, I look forward to returning to the venues that I created winning memories at during the 2009 season."

2010 Monster Energy(R) AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship:
January 9: Angel Stadium, Anaheim, Calif.
January 16: Chase Field, Phoenix, Ariz.
January 23: Angel Stadium, Anaheim, Calif.
January 30: AT&T Park, San Francisco, Calif.
February 6: Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego, Calif.
February 13: Angel Stadium, Anaheim, Calif.
February 20: Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Ind.
February 27: Georgia Dome, Atlanta, Ga.
March 6: Daytona Int'l Speedway, Daytona, Fla.*
March 13: Rogers Centre, Toronto, Ontario
March 20: Cowboy Stadium, Arlington, Texas
March 27: Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, Jacksonville, Fla.
April 10: Reliant Stadium, Houston, Texas
April 17: Edward Jones Dome, St. Louis, Mo.
April 24: Quest Field, Seattle, Wash.
May 1: Rice-Eccles, Salt Lake City, Utah
May 8: Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas, Nev.

* Not a Feld Motor Sports event. This date is independently promoted by Daytona International Speedway and the International Speedway Corp.


Loading Comments...