KTM has officially announced its factory team line-up for the 2004 Motocross World championships.

The 125cc class will see the Champ KTM Team field an exceptional line-up of Tyla Rattray, Ben Townley, Marc de Reuver and Erik Eggens, who will race SX 125 two-strokes primarily, although the new 250 four-stroke may be used in some races.

In the premier MXGP class, KTM state that they "will concentrate on young riders with potential", putting faith in 125cc championship favourite Steve Ramon and former Kawasaki star Kenneth Gundersen.

In doing so, they have chosen not to retain the services of former 125cc world champion Jamie Dobb and - with the departure of Joel Smets - will be without two of their most experienced riders next year.

Strangely, there was no mention of Dobb in the KTM announcement, but they were quick to praise the efforts of Smets:

"To Joel Smets, who decided not to race with KTM in 2004, we say many thanks for four very successful years. With 34 GP victories, 2 World Championships and 3 Vice Championships Joel is the most successful KTM motocross rider of all time! KTM wishes him every success in his future ventures. Thanks Joel!" said a statement.

The 650cc team will be run by Jacky Martens. Martens has run the Husaberg factory team for the past two seasons and will now switch to KTM with riders Yves Demaria and Sven Brugelmans.

As such, current 650cc rider Javier Garcia Vico will also not be on an orange machine next season. The Telefonica backed Spaniard has said he will race in the MX GP class, but hasn't announced his choice of machinery yet.

The final GP of the 2003 season takes place this weekend in France.



Loading Comments...