Marc Coma maintained his masterful showing on the 2009 Dakar Rally as he eased to a third stage win to further stretch his lead.

With few obstacles, save for some cattle, to navigate, the 459km stage from Jacobacci to Neuquen saw closer results than in recent days.

Nonetheless, the result remained the same with Coma coming out on top, just over a minute up on Cyril Despres, who continues his mixed start to the event.

Four seconds further back was Jonah Street, who in turn leapt up to second in the overall standings in place of David Fretigne, who was fourth quickest. Street's cause was aided when a six minute penalty he received earlier in the event was changed to three minutes. Still, with less than a minute between the pair, the battle for second is heating up.

Jordi Viladoms was a big winner on stage four as he moved into fourth position overall from sixth, ahead of Pal anders Ullevalseter, while Netherlands' Henk Knuiman moves into the top six overall in place of Jacek Czachor.

Coma now leads the event by almost 43mins.

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS4:

1. Marc Coma KTM 04hrs 09m 32s
2. Cyril Despres KTM +0hrs 01m 17s
3. Jonah Street KTM +0hrs 01m 21s
4. David Fretigne Yamaha +0hrs 04m 31s
5. Francisco Lopez KTM +0hrs 04m 37s
6. Jordi Viladoms KTM +0hrs 07m 37s

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS4:

1. Marc Coma KTM 14hrs 41m 21s
2. Jonah Street KTM +0hrs 42m 57s
3. Davide Fretigne Yamaha +0hrs 43m 42s
4. Jordi Viladoms KTM +0hrs 55m 57s
5. Pal anders Ullevalseter KTM +0hrs 58m 29s
6. Henk Knuiman KTM +1hrs 09m 01s



Loading Comments...