Three years after being crowned Dakar winner for the first time - and after a bitter retirement in 2007, and the event cancellation in 2008 - Repsol KTM rider Marc Coma led the 2009 Dakar from start to finish, on the new South American route.

Here are some statistics:

Leg victories in 2009: 3 (numbers 1, 3 and 4)Second positions: 5Days since his victory in 2006 (16 January) to 2009: 1 097 daysDays leading the 2009 race: 15Largest margin when leading the overall standings: 1 hour, 29 minutes, 48 seconds (leg 12)Smallest margin when leading the overall standings: 22 minutes 5 secondsLegs when he extended his lead:10Biggest loss of time on a stage compared to the winner: 15 minutes 45 seconds (leg 5)Worst stage classification: 17th at 12 minutes 27 seconds (stage 2)Start: Buenos Aires, Argentina; Saturday 3rd January, 5am local time. First special started: 12.14pmFinish: Buenos Aires, Argentina; Saturday 17th January, 14.30, local time. Winning margin 1 hour, 25 minutes 38 seconds over Cyril Despres.Stage time taken to win the 2009 Dakar: 52 hours, 14 minutes 33 seconds

Tyres used: Front: 15, Rear: 15Days with run-flat mousse: 12Days with inner tube: 3Punctures: 1Litres of petrol: 1000Engines used: 2Fairings used: 2Clutches used: 4Pairs of brake pads: Front: 15, Rear: 15Litres of oil: 15 Pairs of gloves: 4Goggles: 2Helmets: 2Riding suits: 3 complete Litres of water consumed during a leg: 3 litres (capacity of camel back)



Loading Comments...