Out of interest, this is how the current 2005 MotoGP Riders' World Championship standings would look without the presence of the brilliant Valentino Rossi - who has won eight out of the ten races so far this season for Gauloises Yamaha.

As can be seen, Marco Melandri would be leading the world championship by just 1-point over Movistar Honda team-mate Sete Gibernau; the young Italian having won his first premier-class race at Assen and finished on the podium in the first seven races.

Gibernau would have taken the most wins, with four victories, but his three DNFs mean he would be within 7-points of third in the championship Max Biaggi - the Roman having taken his first Repsol Honda victory in his home Italian Grand Prix.

Biaggi, Kenny Roberts, Shane Byrne and James Ellison are the only riders whose championship ranking would actually change without Rossi - Biaggi moving ahead of Colin Edwards for third, Roberts tying with Tamada for 11th, Byrne leapfrogging Franco Battaini and Ellison moving ahead of substitute rider David Checa.

However, the most notable changes would be Olivier Jacque winning Kawasaki's first MotoGP race in the wet of China and Roberts returning Suzuki to the top step of the podium for the first time since 2001 after taking a last lap victory over Alex Barros at Donington Park.

Rossi actually leads the championship standings with 236-points, which have put him a massive 120-points clear of Melandri (116-points). Gibernau (115), Edwards (114), Biaggi (113), Barros (101), Hayden (101), Capirossi (72), Nakano (65) and Checa (51) complete the top ten with seven races - and 175-points - still up for grabs.

2005 MotoGP World Championship without Rossi (after 10 rounds):

1.Marco MelandriMovistar Honda(143)(+27)
2.Sete Gibernau Movistar Honda (142) (+27)
3.Max Biaggi Repsol Honda (135) (+22)
4.Colin EdwardsGauloises Yamaha (131) (+17)
5.Alex BarrosCamel Honda (116) (+15)
6.Nicky Hayden Repsol Honda (114) (+13)
7.Loris CapirossiMarlboro Ducati (85) (+13)
8.Shinya Nakano Kawasaki Racing (74) (+9)
9.Carlos ChecaMarlboro Ducati (60) (+9)
10.Troy Bayliss Camel Honda (54) (+7)
11.Kenny Roberts Team Suzuki (48) (+12)
12.Makoto TamadaKonica Minolta Honda (48) (+6)
13.Ruben XausFortuna Yamaha (44) (+8)
14.John Hopkins Team Suzuki (39) (+7)
15.Toni EliasFortuna Yamaha (36) (+7)
16.Olivier Jacque Kawasaki Racing (31) (+6)
17.Alex HofmannKawasaki Racing (25) (+4)
18.Roberto Rolfo D'Antin Ducati (22) (+7)
19.Jurgen vd GoorberghKonica Minolta Honda (14) (+2)
20.James EllisonBlata WCM (8) (+4)
21.David Checa Fortuna Yamaha (6) (+2)
22.Shane ByrneTeam Roberts (5) (+4)
23.Franco Battaini Blata WCM (2) (+1)
24.Tohru Ukawa Moriwaki (2) (+1)



Loading Comments...