Reigning MotoGP champion Marquez becomes the fourth rider to confirm his place on the 2021 grid, courtesy of a huge four-year HRC contract extension.

The Spaniard joins the future factory Yamaha pairing of Quartararo and Vinales, plus Avintia Ducati's Rabat, in having a seat announced beyond the end of the upcoming season.

Yamaha has also offered a factory-specification bike to Rossi if he decides to continue in MotoGP beyond 2020, while Suzuki is thought to have an option in place to retain both Rins and Mir, which the team intends to take up.

The current MotoGP team/rider contract list is shown below and will be updated as each place on next year's grid is filled.

The opening race of the new season takes place in Qatar on the evening of March 8...

Repsol Honda:
Marc Marquez (End of 2024)
Alex Marquez (End of 2020)*

Monster Yamaha:
Maverick Vinales (End of 2022)
Fabio Quartararo (End of 2022)

(Valentino Rossi has been offered a factory spec Yamaha at a satellite team for 2021)

Ducati Team:
Andrea Dovizioso (End of 2020)
Danilo Petrucci (End of 2020)

Alex Rins (End of 2020)
Joan Mir (End of 2020)

Red Bull KTM:
Pol Espargaro (End of 2020)
Brad Binder (End of 2020)*

Aprilia Gresini:
Aleix Espargaro
(End of 2020)
Andrea Iannone (End of 2020)

Tech3 KTM:
Miguel Oliveira (KTM contract, end of 2020)
Iker Lecuona (KTM contract, End of 2020)*

LCR Honda:
Cal Crutchlow (HRC contract, end of 2020)
Takaaki Nakagami (HRC contract, end of 2020)

Pramac Ducati:
Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati contract, end of 2020)
Jack Miller (Ducati contract, end of 2020)

Avintia Racing
Johann Zarco (Ducati contract, end of 2020)
Tito Rabat (End of 2021)

Petronas Yamaha Sepang Team:
Franco Morbidelli (End of 2020)

* Rookie.


2020 MotoGP Calendar
18 MarchQatar*Losail International Circuit
222 MarchThailandChang International Circuit
35 AprilAmericasCircuit of the Americas
419 AprilArgentinaTermas de Rio Hondo
53 MayJerezCircuito de Jerez - Angel Nieto
617 MayFranceLe Mans
731 MayItalyMugello
87 JuneCatalunyaCircuit de Barcelona - Catalunya 
921 JuneGermanySachsenring
1028 JuneNetherlandsTT Circuit Assen
1112 JulyFinland**KymiRing
129 AugustCzech RepublicBrno
1316 AugustAustriaRed Bull Ring - Spielberg
1430 AugustGreat BritainSilverstone
1513 SeptemberSan MarinoMisano
164 OctoberAragonMotorLand Aragon
1718 OctoberJapanMotegi
1825 OctoberAustraliaPhillip Island
191 NovemberMalaysiaSepang
2015 NovemberValenciaComunitat Valenciana - Ricardo Tormo


Loading Comments...