A fine late effort from Hector Barbera saw him take the spoils as the first day of 250GP testing got underway at Jerez, Spain.

Having returned from a back injury during testing at Estoril, the Pepe World rider claimed the fastest time of 1min 43.156secs in the afternoon session which, although generally slower, was enough to see him unsettle Marco Simoncelli from the top of the timesheets.

The reigning champion had been quickest in the morning, but would prove three tenths down on Barbera by the end of the day.

Nonetheless, that was enough to see him out pace Alvaro Bautista, who, like Barbera, is continuing his return to action following injuries sustained in a crash last month.

In fourth position was Ratthapark Wilairot, the Thai rider doing a fine job to join his rivals in the 1min 43secs bracket and go ahead of 250 rookie Gabor Talmacsi and Hiroshi Aoyama.

In all, 22 riders took part over the course of the day, although the only notable accident was suffered by Team Toth's Mattia Pasini, who heavily damaged his Aprilia.

Testing continues tomorrow

Combined lap times from the first day of 250cc GP testing in Jerez, Spain

1. Hector Barbera Pepe World Team 1min 43.156secs
2. Marco Simoncelli Metis Gilera 1min 43.438secs
3. Alvaro Bautista Mapfre Aspar 1min 43.596secs
4. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda PTT SAG 1min 43.785secs
5. Gabor Talmacsi Balaton Racing 1min 44.055secs
6. Hiroshi Aoyama Scot Racing Team 1min 44.127secs
7. Thomas Luthi Emmi-Caffe Latte 1min 44.199secs
8. Mike Di Meglio Mapfre Aspar 1min 44.273secs
9. Roberto Locatelli Metis Gilera 1min 44.821secs
10. Hector Faubel Honda SAG 1min 44.890secs
11. Raffaele De Rosa Scot Racing Team 1min 44.909secs
12. Lukas Pesek Auto Kelly CP 1min 45.220secs
13. Alex Baldolini WTR San Marino 1min 45.360secs
14. Mattia Pasini Team Toth 1min 45.597secs
15. Karel Abraham Cardion AB 1min 45.633secs
16. Imre Toth Team Toth 1min 45.745secs
17. Jules Cluzel Matteoni Racing 1min 45.912secs
18. Alex Debon Aeropuerto Blusens 1min 46.154secs
19. Shoya Tomizawa CIP Moto 1min 47.550secs
20. Vladimir Leonov Viessmann Kiefer 1min 47.563secs
21. Axel Pons Pepe World Team 1min 49.114secs
22. Bastien Chesaux Racing Team Germany 1min 49.850secs



Loading Comments...