Julian Simon continued to stamp his mark on the 125GP class as he opened up a seven tenths advantage on the competition during the first day of testing at Jerez.

Simon has been a consistent front runner throughout testing, but was on especially good form around the Spanish circuit to record a best lap of 1min 47.345secs which, remarkably, made him the only rider to dip below the 1min 48secs marker.

Clocking his best lap towards the end of the afternoon session, Simon had nonetheless been the man to beat throughout the day, even if he was second to Andrea Iannone in the morning.

Although his morning time would stand as his best for the day - unlike the majority of his rivals - Iannone eventually dropped back to third position, behind Efren Vazquez on the Derbi. Behind them, Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro made it four local favourites inside the top five positions.

From a British perspective, Simon's Aspar team-mate Bradley Smith was a competitive seventh quickest, while Scott Redding squeezed into the top ten on the Blusens machine.

Elsewhere, Danny Webb was marginally behind his Degraaf Grand Prix team-mate to set the 19th best lap of the day, although Matthew Hoyle was finding the going tough on the recently renamed Haojue bike after proving six seconds behind the leaders in the morning before completing just a single lap in the afternoon.

Testing continues tomorrow.

Combined lap times from the first day of 125cc GP testing in Jerez, Spain

1. Julian Simon Banjaca Aspar 1min 47.345secs
2. Efren Vazquez Derbi Racing Team 1min 48.023secs
3. Andrea Iannone Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 48.134secs
4. Marc Marquez Red Bull KTM 1min 48.534secs
5. Pol Espargaro Derbi Racing Team 1min 48.713secs
6. Sergio Gadea Banjaca Aspar 1min 48.756secs
7. Bradley Smith Banjaca Aspar 1min 48.828secs
8. Jonas Folger Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 48.921secs
9. Sandro Cortese Ajo Interwetten 1min 48.930secs
10. Scott Redding Blusens Aprilia 1min 49.014secs
11. Esteve Rabat Blusens Aprilia 1min 49.029secs
12. Joan Olive Spanish Derbi Team 1min 49.099secs
13. Dominique Aegerter Ajo Interwetten 1min 49.144secs
14. Takaaki Nakagami Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 49.711secs
15. Cameron Beaubier Red Bull KTM 1min 49.718secs
16. Stefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer 1min 49.816secs
17. Lorenzo Savadori Team Toth 1min 49.863secs
18. Randy Krummenacher Degraaf Grand Prix 1min 49.923secs
19. Danny Webb Degraaf Grand Prix 1min 50.244secs
20. Johann Zarco WTR San Marino 1min 50.554secs
21. Lorenzo Zanetti Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 50.721secs
22. Lukas Sembera Matteoni Racing 1min 51.190secs
23. Michael Ranseder Haojue Team 1min 51.882secs
24. Jasper Iwema Racing Team Germany 1min 51.929secs
25. Alexis Masbou Loncin Racing 1min 51.939secs
26. Luca Marconi CBC Corse 1min 52.424secs
27. Luca Vitali CBC Corse 1min 52.611secs
28. Simone Corsi Jack & Jones Team 2mins 01.672secs
29. Matthew Hoyle Haojue Team 1min 56.323secs
30. Tomo Koyama Loncin Racing 2mins 17.116secs



Loading Comments...