Julian Simon continued his excellent winter form by completing a perfect sweep of the three-day Jerez 125cc test, which concluded on Friday.

The Spaniard recorded a hot lap of 1min 47.318sec that took him to the top of the combined timesheet, leaving him in high spirits ahead of the final test of the pre-season in Qatar.

Simon was closely followed by fellow Bancaja Aspar rider Bradley Smith, just a tenth of a second down on the timesheet. The highly successful Aspar team have drafted both riders into the fold as they aim to reclaim the 125cc title from Derbi in 2009.

Third fastest on Friday was Ajo's Sandro Cortese with Andrea Iannone rounding out a top four covered by less than 0.25sec. Next up was Iannone's Ongetta Team ISPA team-mate Takaaki Nakagami, with Nicolas Terol, Marc Marquez, Pol Espargaro, Stefan Bradl and Sergio Gadea completing the top ten.

Espargaro had a morning crash that slowed his progress, whilst Bradl was riding injured after a hard collision with the Jerez gravel on Thursday.

A final test in Qatar on April 6th-7th will give the 125cc stars a chance to complete their preparations for the upcoming campaign.

Combined lap times from the third day of 125cc GP testing in Jerez, Spain

1. Julian Simon Banjaca Aspar 1min 47.318secs
2. Bradley Smith Banjaca Aspar 1min 47.420secs
3. Sandro Cortese Ajo Interwetten 1min 47.547secs
4. Andrea Iannone Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 47.550secs
5. Takaaki Nakagami Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 47.702secs
6. Nicola Terol Jack & Jones Team 1min 47.863secs
7. Marc Marquez Red Bull KTM 1min 47.969secs
8. Pol Espargaro Derbi Racing Team 1min 48.077secs
9. Stefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer 1min 48.142secs
10. Sergio Gadea Banjaca Aspar 1min 48.162secs
11. Randy Krummenacher Degraaf Grand Prix 1min 48.474secs
12. Scott Redding Blusens Aprilia 1min 48.498secs
13. Joan Olive Spanish Derbi Team 1min 48.527secs
14. Jonas Folger Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 48.666secs
15. Efren Vazquez Derbi Racing Team 1min 48.766secs
16. Esteve Rabat Blusens Aprilia 1min 48.822secs
17. Danny Webb Degraaf Grand Prix 1min 48.835secs
18. Dominique Aegerter Ajo Interwetten 1min 49.001secs
19. Simone Corsi Jack & Jones Team 1min 49.152secs
20. Johann Zarco WTR San Marino 1min 49.279secs
21. Cameron Beaubier Red Bull KTM 1min 49.434secs
22. Lorenzo Zanetti Ongetta Team ISPA 1min 49.728secs
23. Tomo Koyama Loncin Racing 1min 50.415secs
24. Lorenzo Savadori Team Toth 1min 50.728secs
25. Lukas Sembera Matteoni Racing 1min 51.126secs
26. Luca Marconi CBC Corse 1min 51.155secs
27. Alexis Masbou Loncin Racing 1min 51.506secs
28. Michael Ranseder Haojue Team 1min 51.730secs
29. Luca Vitali CBC Corse 1min 51.597secs
30. Jasper Iwema Racing Team Germany 1min 52.435secs
31. Matthew Hoyle Haojue Team 1min 53.048secs



Loading Comments...