The 2010 MotoGP entry list has been officially unveiled with 17 riders confirmed as full-time participants, one less than the total at the start of the 2009 season.

No surprises adorn the list, with eight factory-backed riders being flanked by a further nine satellite entrants, but while two new teams - Interwetten Honda and Aspar Ducati - will make their debuts in 2010, we have also lost Hayate Racing, Scot Honda and Grupo Francisco Hernando Ducati.

It means there will be one less rider on the grid in Qatar than there was at the opener in 2009, although there is hope that newcomers FB Corse and Inmotec - so far absent from the list - will make an appearance at some stage.

Meanwhile, there are no immediate sponsor changes, although Aspar Ducati and LCR Honda are currently without a title backer.

Also, several riders will change numbers in 2010, most notably Dani Pedrosa, who returns to #26 having held #3 for some years, while Ben Spies, who ran the #19 in World Superbikes has settled for #11 after seemingly losing out to Alvaro Bautista.

Marco Melandri is listed as #24 but Gresini Honda has told that this is a typo and that Melandri will keep his usual #33.

In all, six rookies will compete in their first full season this year - Spies, Bautista, Marco Simoncelli, Hiroshi Aoyama, Hector Barbera and Aleix Espargaro. Also, there will no Kawasaki on the grid since it first entered in 2002.

Full 2010 MotoGP entry list

4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team
5. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
7. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Intrerwetten-Honda MotoGP
11. Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
14. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP
19. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
24. Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini
26. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team
27. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team
36. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing Team
40. Hector Barbera ESP Aspar MotoGP Team
41. Aleix Espargaro ESP Pramac Racing Team
46. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team
58. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini
65. Loreis Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
69. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboto Team
99. Jorge Lorenzo ITA Fiat Yamaha Team


Loading Comments...