Team Gresini has announced that Michele Pirro and Yuki Takahashi will be charged with defending its Moto2 crown next season after confirming an all-new rider line-up.

Gresini earned itself a bit of history this year by becoming the first winner of the newly-formed 600cc series with Toni Elias.

However, with the Spaniard since securing a return to MotoGP with LCR Honda, Gresini will take on a new pairing in Pirro and Takahashi, the former following in the footsteps of Kenan Sofuoglu in switching from the Ten Kate Honda World Supersport team, while the latter joins from the Tech 3 Moto2 outfit.

Though classed as a rookie, Pirro did make his Moto2 debut with Gresini in 2010 during a one-off outing at Motorland Aragon where he finished 14th having qualified eighth. He was also a winner during his second season of WSS racing this season on the way to fifth overall.

Former MotoGP racer Takahashi, meanwhile, will look to build on a patchy Moto2 season in which he did record a victory in Barcelona before his form tailed off during the second-half of the year. He eventually ended the season 12th overall.

As well as Elias, Pirro and Takahashi will also replace Ukrainian Vladimir Ivanov, who scored just two points this season.



Loading Comments...