Juli?n Sim?n leapt to the head of the Moto2 pecking order on day two of the three-day Valencia test on Friday, as the top ten found themselves covered by a mere eight tenths of a second.

The inaugural Moto2 Championship runner-up lopped a full second off his best effort from the previous day to annex the top spot on the timing screens aboard his Mapfre Aspar machine, as Gresini Racing ace Yuki Takahashi improved by 1.3 seconds to snatch second place, the Japanese rider almost matched by day one joint pace-setter Andrea Iannone.

Thomas L?thi wound up a close fourth for Interwetten, just ahead of impressive reigning 125cc World Champion Marc M?rquez, who continues to adapt well to his new surroundings. Fellow Moto2 rookie Michele Pirro, rising British hope Scott Redding and Simone Corsi all similarly lapped in the 1m 36.6s bracket.

Former MotoGP star Alex de Angelis - the benchmark on the opening day - slipped to ninth position on Friday as he failed to better his time, with Stefan Bradl rounding out the top ten, whilst Crash.net columnist and Moto2 debutant Bradley Smith suffered a fall from his Tech 3 machine, thankfully escaping unscathed.

Unofficial lap times supplied by teams (not all riders taking part in test included):

Julian Simon Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 36.0secsYuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.3secsAndrea Iannone Speed Master Suter 1m 36.3secsThomas Luthi Interwetten Suter 1m 36.4secsMarc Marquez Catalunya Caixa Repsol Suter 1m 36.6secsMichele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki 1m 36.6secsScott Redding Marc VDS Suter 1m 36.6secsSimone Corsi Ioda Racing Project 1m 36.6secsAlex de Angelis JiR Motobi 1m 36.8secsStefan Bradl Viessmann Kiefer Kalex 1m 36.8secsMika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 1m 37.0secsJules Cluzel Forward Suter 1m 37.1secsRandy Krummenacher Switzerland Kiefer Kalex 1m 37.4secsRafaelle de Rosa G22 Moriwaki 1m 37.5secsYonny Hernandez Blusens STX 1m 37.5secsMike DiMeglio Tech 3 1m 37.6secsEsteve Rabat Blusens STX 1m 37.7secsXavi For?s Mapfre Aspar Suter 1m 37.7secsClaudio Corti Italtrans Suter 1m 37.8secsAlex Baldolini Forward Racing Suter 1m 37.8secsBradley Smith Tech 3 1m 38.0secsKev Coghlan Motorsport 69 FTR 1m 38.0secsMattia Pasini Ioda Racing Project 1m 38.3secsMax Neukirchner MZ Racing 1m 38.5secsDominque Aegerter Technomag CIP Suter 1m 38.6secsSantiago Hern?ndez SAG Team FTR 1m 38.6secsAnthony West MZ Racing 1m 38.8secsKenny Noyes Avintia STX FTR 1m 38.9secsRobertino Pietri Italtrans Suter 1m 39.4secs



Loading Comments...