During the four years of the 800cc MotoGP era, no rider has yet taken race wins for two different manufacturers.

That will surely change during this year's final season of the engine size, with the two most prolific 800cc winners - Casey Stoner (23 wins for Ducati) and Valentino Rossi (21 wins for Yamaha) - changing to Honda and Ducati respectively.

The other 800cc winners - Jorge Lorenzo (14 wins for Yamaha), Dani Pedrosa (10 wins for Honda) Andrea Dovizioso (1 win for Honda) and Loris Capirossi (1 win for Ducati) - will all ride for the manufacturer with which they previously tasted victory.

The only other 800cc race winner, Chris Vermeulen (1 win for Suzuki), now competes in World Superbikes.

During the five years of the 990cc MotoGP era, from 2002-2006, two riders won races for more than one manufacturer: Rossi (20 for Honda, then 25 for Yamaha) and Max Biaggi (2 for Yamaha, then 3 for Honda).

MotoGP engine size will change to 1000cc from 2012.



Loading Comments...