The first motorcycle grand prix pole position of the 2011 season has been won by Nico Terol, whose perfect Qatar weekend continued during 125cc qualifying on Saturday night.

Terol, the 2010 title runner-up and winner of last year's Qatar GP, had been quickest by at least 0.931sec during the three practice sessions leading up to qualifying.

That trend looked set to continue when the Bankia Aspar Aprilia star snatched pole by 0.975sec from Sandro Cortese, with six minutes left in the 40-minute session.

But Cortese fought back - and caused a stir by reclaiming pole, by just 0.001sec, with one minute to go. It wasn't to last though, as Terol dipped 0.090sec under the Racing Team Germany rider's best on his very last lap.

125cc and Moto2 have now joined MotoGP in having three-riders per row, and it will be Ajo Derbi's Efren Vasquez who completes Sunday's front row. Vasquez was over one-second slower than Terol.

Row two will consist of Aprilia riders Sergio Gadea, Hector Faubel (Terol's team-mate) and Jonas Folger.

Due to the four-night format, the 125cc warm-up will controversially be held later tonight, with the race on Sunday.

Qualifying - Qatar:

1. Terol (Aprilia) 2m 6.605s
2. Cortese (Aprilia) +0.090s
3. Vasquez (Derbi) +1.046s
4. Gadea (Aprilia) +1.252s
5. Faubel (Aprilia) +1.457s
6. Folger (Aprilia) +1.693s
7. Zarco (Derbi) +1.977s
8. Moncayo (Aprilia) +2.078s
9. Vinales (Aprilia) +2.613s
10. Salom (Aprilia) +2.726s

13. Kent (Aprilia) +3.100s
20. Mackenzie (Aprilia) +3.768s
23. Webb (Mahindra) +4.003s
28. Stafford (Aprilia) +6.774s



Loading Comments...