MotoGP Rider of the Year 2011:4th Ben SpiesYour score out of 10: 7.32 (average)

Team: Yamaha Factory RacingBike: YZR-M1 (factory)Wins: 1Podiums: 4Poles: 0Championship points: 176 (11 points per start average)Championship position: 5th

The only new race winner during the 2011 MotoGP season was Ben Spies, who you voted fourth in the MotoGP Rider of the Year poll, with an average score of 7.32 out of 10.

The Texan, riding in his first season as a factory Yamaha rider, achieved his pre-season goal of a race win with a dominant performance at Assen. The Texan added three further podiums to end the season fifth in the world championship - one place higher than during his rookie 2010 campaign.

On the downside, Spies was unable to regularly threaten team-mate and reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo - who scored three wins, ten podiums and 84 points more than Spies.

Lorenzo missed the last two races and Spies was also side-lined following a heavy fall in Australia. Spies failed to finish three further races, including at Estoril, when a clamp was mistakenly left on his bike for the start of the race.

Spies looked set to make a perfect return as he led out of the last corner at the Valencia finale, only to be beaten to the line by Casey Stoner.'s MotoGP Rider of the Year 2011:
4. Ben Spies 7.32
5. Dani Pedrosa 7.24
6. Andrea Dovizioso 7.07
7. Alvaro Bautista 6.81
8. Colin Edwards 6.20
9. Nicky Hayden 6.00
10. Valentino Rossi 5.96

About the vote: Over 79,000 votes were cast during this year's MotoGP poll, which asked viewers to award each of the 17 full-time riders a score out of 10.

As well as results, viewers were asked to take into account factors such as machinery specification, performance relative to team-mates, injuries, plus the ability to communicate with fans and promote the sport.

The full 17-rider rundown will be listed after the winner is announced on December 31.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...



Loading Comments...