MotoGP Rider of the Year 2011:3rd Jorge LorenzoYour score out of 10: 7.86 (average)

Team: Yamaha Factory RacingBike: YZR-M1 (factory)Wins: 3Podiums: 10Poles: 2Championship points: 260 (17.3 points per start average)Championship position: 2nd

Third place in the MotoGP Rider of the Year poll goes to outgoing world champion Jorge Lorenzo, who received an average score of 7.86 out of 10.

Lorenzo proved more than capable of leading the Factory Yamaha team in the new post-Rossi era, finishing as the top M1 rider in 12 of the first 15 rounds and offering the only serious resistance to Casey Stoner for the title.

Lorenzo took three hard-earned wins during his ten podiums and, despite missing the last two races, comfortably secured second place in the championship.

The Spaniard's only non-finish came after crashing in the wet at Silverstone, while a nasty injury in the Phillip Island warm-up ended his season - and slim title chances.'s MotoGP Rider of the Year vote 2011:
3. Jorge Lorenzo 7.86
4. Ben Spies 7.32
5. Dani Pedrosa 7.24
6. Andrea Dovizioso 7.07
7. Alvaro Bautista 6.81
8. Colin Edwards 6.20
9. Nicky Hayden 6.00
10. Valentino Rossi 5.96

About the vote: Over 79,000 votes were cast during this year's MotoGP poll, which asked viewers to award each of the 17 full-time riders a score out of 10.

As well as results, viewers were asked to take into account factors such as machinery specification, performance relative to team-mates, injuries, plus the ability to communicate with fans and promote the sport.

The full 17-rider rundown will be listed after the winner is announced on December 31.

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...



Loading Comments...