Reigning MotoGP champion Jorge Lorenzo and F1 champion Sebastian Vettel have been drawn in the same opening group for the December 14-16 Race of Champions at Bangkok's Rajamangala Stadium (pictured).

Former five-time 500cc world champion Mick Doohan and the runner-up from a supporting event for host nation Thailand will form the other members of Group C. The top two from each group then graduate to the knock-out stage.

The Race Of Champions, staged for the 25th consecutive year in 2012, brings together competitors from disciplines such as Formula 1, MotoGP, WRC, Touring Cars, Le Mans, IndyCar and the X-Games and sets them free to battle in identical four-wheel machinery.

Vehicles include the Audi R8 LMS, VW Scirocco, Lamborghini Gallardo Super Trofeo and Toyota GT86 - plus ROC favourites including the ROC car, KTM X-Bow and Euro Racecar.

The full group line-up following the draw can be seen below.

Individual Race Of Champions (Sunday December 16):

Group A
S?bastien OGIER, WRC star and reigning ROC 'Champion of Champions'
Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
David COULTHARD, 13 Formula 1 grand prix victories
Benito GUERRA, Production World Rally Champion 2012

Group B
Tom KRISTENSEN, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion
ROC Asia 1, top non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia
ROC Thailand 1, winner of ROC Thailand

Group C
Sebastian VETTEL, Formula 1 World Champion 2012, 2011, 2010
Jorge LORENZO, MotoGP World Champion 2012, 2010
Mick DOOHAN, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion
ROC Thailand 2, runner-up from ROC Thailand

Group D
Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
Ryan HUNTER-REAY, IndyCar Series Champion 2012
ROC Asia 2, second-placed non-Thailand competitor from ROC Asia
Romain GROSJEAN, three Formula 1 podiums in 2012

The ROC Nations Cup will take place on the Saturday, where Schumacher and Vettel will be looking to continue this winning streak for Team Germany. Lorenzo will be driving as part of the 'All Stars' team with Doohan alongside Jamie Whincup for Team Australia. The group draw for the Nations Cup is as follows:

ROC Nations Cup (Saturday December 15)

Group A
Team France (S?bastien OGIER & Romain GROSJEAN)
Team Great Britain (David COULTHARD & Andy PRIAULX)
Team Americas (Ryan HUNTER-REAY & Benito GUERRA)
Team All Stars (Tom KRISTENSEN & Jorge LORENZO)

Group B
Team Germany (Michael SCHUMACHER & Sebastian VETTEL)
Team Thailand (The two finalists from ROC Thailand)
Team Australia (Mick DOOHAN & Jamie WHINCUP)
Team Asia (The leading ROC Asia team other than Thailand)



Loading Comments...