Aleix Espargaro and Bradley Smith led MotoGP's Qualifying 1 session at Austin, Texas and will now progress to the Q2 pole position shootout, where they will join the ten fastest riders after third practice.

Just as in Qatar, top CRT rider Espargaro led the session, with Monster Yamaha tech 3 rider Smith vaulting ahead of Pramac Ducati's Iannone to claim the final transfer spot on his very last lap.

Espargaro was 0.479s quicker than Smith and 0.760s ahead of Iannone, who were the only manufacturer riders in Q1.

Bryan Staring (Gresini) and Karel Abraham (Cardion AB) collided halfway through the session, bringing them both down.

Both qualifying sessions are just 15-minutes in length.

Qualifying (1):
1. Aleix Espargaro
2. Bradley Smith

3.Andrea Iannone
4. Randy De Puniet
5. Hector Barbera
6. Yonny Hernandez
7. Michael Laverty
8.Colin Edwards
9. Claudio Corti
10.Danilo Petrucci
11.Hiroshi Aoyama
12. Bryan Staring
13. Lukas Pesek
14. Blake Young
15. Karel Abraham



Loading Comments...