Catalunya MotoGP qualifying will begin with each of the leading Spanish stars having led one free practice session, after Dani Pedrosa set the pace in FP4.

Repsol Honda's title leader held off Monster Yamaha Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow by just 0.044s - the Englishman looking to have an excellent chance of claiming his third podium in a row on Sunday.

Factory Yamaha team-mates Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi were third and fourth, followed by LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl and rookie star Marc Marquez, who completed a top six covered by 0.787s.

Lorenzo, Pedrosa and Marquez have taken all of the victories so far this season - and all count Barcelona as their home event. Lorenzo was fastest in FP1 and Marquez in FP3, with Rossi breaking the Spanish practice domination on Friday afternoon.

The main FP4 priority was to work on race set-up, with the grand prix start almost exactly 24 hours away.

The baking 55-degree temperatures - the hottest of the season - might have made the harder compounds seem an obvious tyre choice.

However most of the riders ran both options, underlining the uncertainty over tyre choice, starting on the hard rear then putting laps on the soft. Pedrosa meanwhile looked to have spent the entire session on the softer rear.

Top CRT rider Aleix Espargaro missed the end of the session due to a fall. The local star was holding an excellent fifth place but slipped back to eighth as a result.

Avintia's Hiroshi Aoyama has withdrawn for the remainder of the weekend after a heavy fall in Saturday practice. Aoyama will be replaced by Spanish veteran Javier del Amor, making his MotoGP debut. del Amor who was last and 6.8s off the pace in FP4.

Qualifying will now begin, with those riders outside of the top ten after FP3 taking part in Q1, where the final two places in the pole position Q2 shootout are up for grabs.

Free practice 4:
1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Marc Marquez
7.Nicky Hayden
8. Aleix Espargaro
9.Andrea Dovizioso
10.Alvaro Bautista
11.Andrea Iannone
12.Bradley Smith
13.Michele Pirro
14. Randy De Puniet
15.Karel Abraham
16.Colin Edwards
17. Hector Barbera
18. Claudio Corti
19.Danilo Petrucci
20. Michael Laverty
21. Yonny Hernandez
22. Bryan Staring
23. Lukas Pesek
24. Javier Del Amor

The next round of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship takes place at Assen on June 27-29 - CLICK HERE to buy tickets from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.



Loading Comments...